The picture of innocence

Front_yard_picnic

Shortly before this photo was taken, I had asked Mabel to sweep up some crumbs in the kitchen.  She said, “Instead of ‘If you want something done, do it yourself,’ your motto is ‘If you want something done, have a kid do it.'”  That girl makes me roll my eyes so often that my eyeballs  get dizzy.  (I sliced those apples the kids are eating.  Right after I finished nursing the baby.  And before I started rolling out the cookie dough for Ike’s birthday party treat.)

Update: For what it’s worth, she saw me writing this and sheepishly said, “I know you work hard.”

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful), Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The picture of innocence

  1. Kristina says:

    Awwww, she is so sweet. And I love that your kids read over your shoulder. Except at my blog. 🙂

  2. ashley says:

    I’m the oldest of five and I remember feeling like Cinderella when I was around age 10 or so. Now as a mom I look back and realize I had no idea how much work my mother did to keep our home running smoothly. I often wonder if it will be a similar eye opening experience when we die and realize just how much our Heavenly Father does for us and this earth to keep things running smoothly (until we go and mess things up!)

    • zstitches says:

      That’s a nice observation, Ashley. Remembering our Heavenly Father’s patience with us is always helpful to me when I’m trying to muster patience with my kids.

Leave a Reply

