Party all the time

The rest of my family walked to church today so they were already seated when I arrived.  Everything was calm and quiet, and I hadn’t really registered that Rose was gone using the bathroom.  When she returned, I took note of everything she did in the first 5 minutes of church.  Here’s my list:

During the opening song she comes running up one aisle, runs across the front of the chapel, and sits down next to me.

She’s brought a torn piece of  toilet paper from the bathroom, and she uses it like a ruler to measure the top of a hymnbook.

She balls the paper up and puts it in her shoe.

She puts her foot in her shoe.

She takes her shoe off and retrieves the wad of toilet paper.

She puts the wad of paper in her mouth and chews on it.

She takes off her other shoe.

She buckles her shoes so that one strap is linked through the other.

Holding her shoes in her hand, she leaves the bench, runs back up the aisle, across the front of the chapel, and sits down on the other side of the bench by Dean.

After that I couldn’t see her anymore, so things got a lot less entertaining for me.

Hang_your_head_over_Rose_04Jul2009

Rose on a 4th of July hike (wearing a Halloween t-shirt.)

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Party all the time

  1. Jen says:

    Never a dull moment with small children. My daughter is in a motor-mouth phase. Her propensity to say “That’s a beautiful girl!” has brightened many a day. Her propensity to say, “I don’t want to get baptized” has also brightened many a deacon’s passage. (Me: you don’t have to take the sacrament until you get baptized. Grace: I DON’T WANT TO GET BAPTIZED!)

  2. Lili says:

    The more stories you tell of your five-year-old…
    the more I am reminded of, well, me. So much of her business is all so strangely familiar…

  3. Annette says:

    Because that makes so much sense . . . (?)

  4. Melanie J says:

    I’m still stuck on her chewing toilet paper. Why do kids like paper so much?

  5. zstitches says:

    That was my favorite moment from the whole scene. I don’t know why I’m able to be amused by something as gross as a kid popping a piece of toilet paper in their mouth that’s just been in their shoe, but maybe it was partly from relief that it had *only* been in her shoe, and not even worse places.

  6. UnkieJas says:

    I love that you’re totally setting up your kids later for appreciating themselves as having been children now.

  7. Jessie W. says:

    The toilet paper part had me laughing. Someday this is going to be a blackmail story you can use when Rose is older, haha.

Leave a Reply

