Seems pretty straightforward to me

solicitors

Principle 1: If your mother is still in her pajamas, or is in the shower, you should never answer the door.

Principle 1, corollary 1: If you forget Principle 1, you should still not try to get your mother to come to the door. You should definitely not try to explain to your mother that she shouldn’t mind answering the door in her pajamas.

Principle 1, corollary 2: You should never try to hand your mother the phone when she is in the shower.

You would think that these principles would be simple enough to be retained by even the most absent of minds. But, if the mind in question belongs to a child, you would be mistaken.

Sigh.



P.S. Cheryl, if you see this, I’m not at all saying you shouldn’t have knocked on my door, only that my kids should have checked with me before answering. Just like all those other times that they should have and didn’t.

This entry was posted in I think I'm not funny, Meanwhile in the real world, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Seems pretty straightforward to me

  1. Kristina says:

    Always very awkward.

  2. Cheryl says:

    Zina,
    really I agree. Ashby always beats me to opening the door.
    I’m glad the kids could come over (as thus allow this above blog time…hehe) but I really just wanted to relay the message to you as I knew that if you didn’t want the kids to come today (meaning either a. you didn’t want them to or b. you didn’t want to spend the time to get them ready) then that would be that. Anyway, next time I’ll just try calling.

  3. zstitches says:

    They had a great time! Thanks for letting us know. I thought I would make it over, too, but then Hazel was really really hungry so I didn’t.

  4. Melanie J says:

    Totally been there.

  5. the MomB says:

    As a child, Zina was my worst offender. Payback time. Not that I’d wish it on her.

  6. Hannah says:

    Not to confuse children any further but I’d like to propose two additional rules.

    Rule #2) No opening the the handicap stall (because the store doesn’t have a “family restroom”) while your mother is still in the act of peeing.

    Rule #3) No answering the door of your home naked even if you are under the age of four.

  7. zstitches says:

    Amen, Hannah.

  8. OhSusanna says:

    also, you shouldn’t inform people at the door or on the telephone that your mother is

    a: in the bathroom
    b: in the shower
    c: any other potentially embarassing information.

Leave a Reply

