Everyone’s a comic

PaperCherries

Today in Primary (the children’s class at church,) Mabel helped enact the story of the unmerciful servant (Matthew 18:23-34) and we’re told that she got into the role more than she had in rehearsal–she was shrieking and trying to bite the kids who had to take her away to the tormenters at the end of the story.  Then for singing time the song leader let the kids choose paper cherries with song numbers on them, and the kids got to keep the cherries.  Mabel held hers high and dramatically tore it in two.  Not to be outdone (never to be outdone,) when it was his turn, Isaac stuffed the paper cherry in his mouth and chewed on it.  (He says that when he removed it from his mouth 20 minutes later, there wasn’t any red ink left on it.  I’ll get back to you on whether there are any health benefits to a red ink diet.)

—-

Twine

Our bedtime routine with the kids is to read scriptures, sing a song, and have family prayer.  Tonight as we were choosing a song, Dean glanced at Hazel who’d fallen asleep in her swing, and suggested “Hush Little Baby.”  I said, “I know hardly any of the verses, so I always end up making them up.”  But we started singing anyway:

“Hush little baby, don’t say a word, Papa’s gonna buy you a mockingbird. And if that mockingbird don’t sing, Papa’s gonna buy you a diamond ring. And if that diamond ring don’t shine–”

Me:  “Papa’s gonna buy you a ball of twine.  And if that ball of twine’s too short, Papa’s gonna buy you–” [pause]

Rose:  “PANTS!”

This entry was posted in I think I'm funny, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Everyone’s a comic

  1. Kristina says:

    That paper cherry can’t be any worse than a contact.

  2. Thank you for having normal children.

  3. Melanie J says:

    I have the exact same problem with the mockingbird song. I’ve made up all kinds of lyrics when I sing it to my kids but I don’t think I’ve ever struck on pants.

  4. debbie says:

    I love your blog and maybe I am the only one who can’t read it but the side bars are dark and I can’t read this post! The writing goes from side to side and I can only see the writing in the middle. I just wanted you to know in case other people have that problem too (it may just be my computer) and also let you know why I can’t say anything meaningful about this post:(

  5. zstitches says:

    Debbie, thanks for letting me know (can you read this reply?)

    I can see all the text BUT, mysteriously, the text column in my template is now about 2″ wider at its default width than it was, although I have not changed my template. I like it wider but I don’t know how it happened. I wonder if this change is what’s making it so you can’t read it. And I wonder if clearing your cache or something would help. I will try to find out what I can (but I’m not terribly tech-savvy.)

  6. Mary says:

    And if those pants grow wings and fly away, Papa’s gonna take a video and post it on youtube and get 4 million views.

  7. Corky says:

    Here’s the way I learned it – except now I use Grandma instead of Mama when I sing it to my granddaughter. She just turned 2 and is starting to sing along.

    Hush, little baby, don’t say a word.
    Mama’s gonna buy you a mockingbird

    And if that mockingbird won’t sing,
    Mama’s gonna buy you a diamond ring

    And if that diamond ring turns brass,
    Mama’s gonna buy you a looking glass

    And if that looking glass gets broke,
    Mama’s gonna buy you a billy goat

    And if that billy goat won’t pull,
    Mama’s gonna buy you a cart and bull

    And if that cart and bull turn over,
    Mama’s going to buy you a dog named Rover.

    And if that dog named Rover won’t bark,
    Mama’s going to buy you a horse and cart.

    And if that horse and cart fall down,
    You’ll still be the sweetest little baby in town.

    • zstitches says:

      Thanks, Corky. I’ve actually looked up the lyrics before, but they just don’t stick with me. Maybe if I can just start with remembering that the diamond ring could turn to brass, I could add a little to my memory each time until I get the whole song down.

Leave a Reply

