Sociological assumptions

A couple of days ago we were driving through downtown Provo. Sitting in the back of a truck ahead of us were a guy with tattoos, smoking a cigarette, and a pretty girl with a good haircut, who was smiling at him as they talked to each other.

I said: “Her parents didn’t raise her for that. Or . . . maybe they did raise her to ride in the back of trucks with dangerous-looking guys. Maybe they were too busy doing those kinds of things themselves to care whether she did or not. But that’s not what I hope I’m raising our daughters for.”

Dean said: “Maybe her parents didn’t raise her for that so much that she rebelled.”

A couple of minutes passed, and Dean pointed and said, “His mother didn’t raise him for that.” I looked up to see a Golden Retriever riding in the back of a truck. Dean added, more quietly, “I was about to say ‘His bitch didn’t raise him for that,’ but I remembered the kids are in the car.”

This entry was posted in But Dean is the funniest, I think I'm funny, Me thinking about stuff, Meanwhile in the real world. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sociological assumptions

  1. Kristina says:

    Uh, oh! I think I may have to add a warning for your blog on my blog! 😉 I love it!

  2. So true. I hope you don’t mind, but I put a little link to you on my blog. ;o)

  3. That’s what’s sad. 1/3 of God’s kids weren’t raised to do what they did. If those are God’s odds, what are our odds, being imperfect. Scares me.

  4. zstitches says:

    Kristina, you should definitely add that warning. 🙂 (Of course, Dean was only using the word in its accurate sense.)

    Lady-of-Chaos, of course I don’t mind!

    Laura, yeah, that’s scary. Of course, for our kids’ sake we have to act in faith that they’ll make mostly good life choices, because they’re more likely to do so when they have parents who believe in them.

  5. Acheté says:

    I saw a bumper sticker the other day:

    Just when you think life’s a bitch–it has puppies.

  6. Charlotte says:

    Very funny!! Visit Hannah’s blog and see what psychology is working in her house this week. Kids are the best entertainment!

  7. Liz says:

    Maybe you should remember that everyone with tattoos isn’t actually dangerous. Smoking is an addiction and we are all prone to judging. Did your parents raise you to be so selectively judgmental. Why are you so critical based on appearances?

Leave a Reply

