You start out with goo-goo and ga-ga, and the next thing you know you’re having actual conversations with your kids

LastApprentice

Since my mom and my sister both recommended the series pretty highly, my whole family have been reading the “Last Apprentice” series by Joseph Delaney.  They’re teen “horror” books, and the premise is that the protagonist is apprenticed to a “spook,” whose job it is to help rid the County of boggarts, ghasts, ghosts, and basically anything that goes bump in the night.  They’re well-written and entertaining.  I asked Dean to buy me the first one for my birthday, but he accidentally bought me the third one, so he went back and bought the first one, which HE proceeded to read in one day (I was finishing up another book) and then he went and bought the second book.  Once he’d finished reading the third book, he went ahead and bought four and five in one go.  (The sixth book comes out in August.) Since Dean’s birthday was this week (mine was a week and a half ago,) it worked out okay as a shared birthday present, and all of our different reading paces have allowed Dean and me and Ike and Mabel to stagger our turns with the books.

Today I was saying to Isaac (don’t worry, this is far too trivial a detail to be a spoiler,) that one thing that does annoy me in the books is that, “The apprentice always has to carry the Spook’s bag, so one of his hands is always full, and I just keep thinking ‘Why don’t they put a shoulder strap on the bag, or two straps to make it into a backpack?  It’d make it so much easier for him to carry, and he’d have both hands free.”  Isaac answered, “Well, it’s a society that’s not very far along with technology.”

This entry was posted in Books/Movies/TV/etc., My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to You start out with goo-goo and ga-ga, and the next thing you know you’re having actual conversations with your kids

  1. Brian says:

    I can’t quite remember at what point in history the shoulder strap was invented. Good research topic.

  2. Jen says:

    I always love your post titles.

    I wish I hadn’t taken that one back to the library before finishing reading it. I didn’t get very far, and I had another one that I am still wading through (almost done!) and thought I’d wait.

  3. libilu says:

    I really enjoy those books.

Leave a Reply

