Kids these days (can surprise you)

JunoBunnies

Me: [Singing] “I’m sticking with you, ’cause I’m made out of glue.  Anything that you might do, I’m gonna do too.”

Ike:  “Where did you learn that?”

Me: “It’s a childhood rhyme.  But I learned that version of it from Juno — the soundtrack of Juno.  Do you know what Juno is?”

Ike:  “It’s the Roman name of the Greek God Hera.”

Me: [Laughing] “That’s right.  That’s exactly right.  It’s also the name of a movie that was popular a year or two ago, but the character in the movie was named after the Roman god.”

Ike: “She’s the goddess of [squinting] marriage, and . . . sky . . . that doesn’t sound right.  And she’s the wife of Zeus, and she’s always getting angry at him, because Zeus is one the gods who’s most often marrying mortals.”

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Kids these days (can surprise you)

  1. Acheté says:

    Clever boy. Love the rabbits.

  2. Jason says:

    Fun and lovely–flovely.

  3. Lili says:

    Speechless.

  4. Melanie J says:

    Has your boy heard of the Rick Riordan series Percy Jackson and the Olympians? I have a sneaking suspicion he’d like it. We’re finishing Book 3 with my son right now.

    • zstitches says:

      Hey, thanks for the recommendation. I asked him and he said he’d read the first one and liked it but never gotten around to reading the other ones, so I’ll have to sleuth them out for him. (It looks like there are five of them.)

  5. OhSusanna says:

    We’ve got all of them here if you want to borrow any. My kids love them. Libby is my source when I have Greek and Roman mythology questions.

Leave a Reply

