And they sang as they did so

Hazel_takenbyMabel01

Photo by Mabel. (Remind me to teach her to use the close-up focusing feature on the camera.)

I am not the only one in my family who makes up spontaneous songs for Hazel — we all do it. Yesterday my brother Andy sang this song to her, and by the time I’d found paper and pen to scribble down his lyrics, neither of us could remember them exactly, but they were pretty close to this:

Hello Hazel Baby
Thanks for coming here
Everyone has eaten
Yours was different food

Soon we’ll go a-driving
Down the mountains long
Good thing we have cars now
Not like pioneer days
When they went to Grandpa’s
They had to walk for days

Andy’s also been working to record an album with his more polished musical compositions, and you can listen to early drafts here.  I was trying to choose a favorite that you should listen to first, and I failed, but #2, #3, and #12 were all in the running.

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful), Other people are funny. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And they sang as they did so

  1. Kristina says:

    That’s the same look she gave me when my held her! Except this look is way less terrified.

  2. Hannah says:

    I love the songs kids make up. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

