Now I have two favorite catchphrases. (Twice as many as I used to have!)

My old favorite catchphrase is from this “deep thought” by Jack Handy:

Sometimes, I think I should always carry around two bags.  That way, if anyone ever asks me for help, I can say, “Sorry, got these bags.”

I think the usefulness of this one is obvious.  If you educate your family by using the quote often enough, you can get to where all you have to say is “Sorry, got these bags.”

My new favorite catchphrase is from a story told by Mike Birbiglia, which I heard on a podcast from “The Moth,” and which is apparently also featured on an episode of “This American Life” and in Mike Birbiglia’s one-man-show called “Sleepwalk With Me.”  I played this story for Dean with our kids in the car and the kids laughed until they nearly wept.  Even Henry got into the spirit of things and was roaring with laughter, and now it’s become one of my kids’ most common requests.  Early in the story, Birbiglia talks about thinking that maybe he should get his sleepwalking tendency checked out by a doctor, and says, “But then I thought, maybe I’ll eat dinner.”  This turns out to be a very useful expression.  Here are some examples of how it can be used:

“I should call somebody about the puddle in the bottom of the washing machine.  Or maybe I’ll eat dinner.”

“I’ve had this persistent pain in my toe.  I should get my foot looked at.  Or maybe I’ll eat dinner.”

Etc.  (You get the idea.)

P.S. I heard that there’s going to be a new one-hour show of “The Moth” as a regular feature on NPR (I think starting this fall.)  I’ll bet it will be good.

This entry was posted in Books/Movies/TV/etc., Me thinking about stuff, Other people are funny. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Now I have two favorite catchphrases. (Twice as many as I used to have!)

  1. Mrs. Organic says:

    That first one is a treasure.

  2. Kristina says:

    I really need a catchphrase. I will have to work on this.

  3. the MomB says:

    When I say, “Sorry, got these bags,” I’m pointing at my eyes and my hips.

    These both just make me LOL.

  4. Jen says:

    I should quit reading blogs. Or maybe I’ll eat dinner.

    Hey, this is great! My life is probably changed for the better!

  5. OhSusanna says:

    I heard that story on This American Life and it’s become one of my favorites. Every time I hear or see the word or an image of a jaguar I picture him standing in a karate pose on his bed and I almost pee my pants a second time (and a third, and a fourth….).

  6. zstitches says:

    Jackal, Suzy! With wings. Much scarier.

    Last night I discovered that he (Mike Birbiglia) has some videos with new material and they were pretty funny — but not as clean as the Moth/This American Life version of Sleepwalk With Me, so I won’t post the links. (I also was revisiting Demetri Martin videos and found out he had a 7-episode Comedy Central show that started in February and might get renewed. From the clips it looked like that was (sadly) none-too-clean, either, though.

    I see you’re catching up on my archives. 🙂

Leave a Reply

