New do

A couple of years ago my Mom was looking for someone new to cut her hair.  There’s a place in the local mall that tends to have a Hispanic clientele, and my Mom had noticed that people coming out of there looked good, and it also occurred to her that haircuts might be a little less expensive there.  This proved to be the case, and my Mom found a young stylist working there who’s smart as a whip and very talented.  Truth be told, I have much more interesting conversations with this stylist when she does my hair than I did with some of the, um, not-quite-so-bright gals at another salon nearby where I used to get my hair done.  The first time she did my hair, she told me about how when her family moved here to Utah when she was a kid, she and her brother and sister could never find kids to play with on Sunday, and figured out it was because all the kids were going to church, so they followed the kids there one day.  Once there, they found out that you got candy in Primary, so they kept coming back for the candy.  Eventually all three were baptized LDS, and later their mom was also baptized.

Unfortunately (for me) she’s getting married this summer and moving to Salt Lake — and also she’s now trained to be a phlebotomist (that’s a person who draws blood — I tell you that in case, unlike me, you haven’t had to have your blood drawn a thousand times in the last few years, so that word’s not a part of your everyday vocabulary.)  She’s taking a break from hairstyling to be a phlebotomist because she gets bad exzema, and all the products she has to use when she does hair really aggravate it.  She says she’s going to miss cutting hair and hopes to eventually have her own salon, after her future husband finishes law school.  If she does, I’ll be a loyal client.  (I’d probably be a loyal client of her as a phlebotomist, too, if she were staying in my town, because it seems like someone who’s good at cutting hair should also be good at drawing blood.  And I’m afraid that I’ve had plenty of experience with less-than-gifted phlebotomists.)

I was nervous to leave Hazel with Dean while I got my hair highlighted and cut (which takes a while) but I’d managed to pump about 3.5 ounces of milk and figured that would tide her over, although she’s never had a bottle so I wasn’t sure if she’d take to it.  Dean says she drank it down in 5 minutes flat and looked around for more.  She’s sleeping now (but I need to wake her up and bathe her.  Which means I first need to clean the kitchen, since her baby bathtub goes in the kitchen sink.)

I’m not patient enough to wait until morning to take a photo in better light, so here’s a dark glimpse of my new haircut.  Dean gave Rose and Mabel summer haircuts this week, too, so I’ll try to get photos of their cute new hairstyles soon.

New_do_01

Update:  I just started cleaning the kitchen but remembered another story my stylist told me tonight (I’ll call her A.)  Her cousin’s mother and father had gone down to Mexico but the mother got really sick, and A.’s cousin was the only one who could go fetch her back, but the cousin had a 3-month-old baby, who she left in A.’s care.  A. hadn’t realized the baby was breastfed but she fed her bottles of formula and (fortunately!) the baby really liked them and ate and slept and seemed very happy.  The cousin was gone for about a week and a half.  When she returned, she said the baby was a lot fatter than when she’d left.  A. replied that she’d heard that if you touched a baby’s tummy and it felt soft, it was time to feed the baby.  And every time she’d felt the baby’s tummy, it felt soft.

This entry was posted in Meanwhile in the real world. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to New do

  1. Kristina says:

    I love it! It looks very chic.

  2. Erin says:

    Woo wee! Cute! I hope you can find a great new hairstylist after she moves.

  3. Trina says:

    Looks great! (Even in the less-than-perfect light).

  4. Melanie J says:

    Wow, it looks really good!

  5. Mrs. Organic says:

    It looks fab – I’d be sorry to lose her, she does great work and it sounds like she’s a great conversationalist too.

    Really love the hair!

  6. Lili says:

    woo woo!
    I hadn’t realized when you asked me what you should do with your hair that you were on your way to get your air done!
    Maybe I should make an appt. with her before she leaves–when’s she leaving?
    (The last time I had my hair cut was right after I got back from England. I had A do it too. She was impressed with the things I was doing in life, and said “my goodness, if I was a guy, I’d be intimidated!” Guess I just gotta find the one that isn’t…

  7. the MomB says:

    I LOVE your new airdo! (I just had to use that word, courtesy of Lili’s typo.)

    Also, A’s story about feeding the baby is hilarious! (And I’m always surprised at how wry A is; I shouldn’t be surprised, I know.)

  8. Thora says:

    In a completely unrelated tangent, I just read your comment on DeNae’s blog, My Backordered Life, and I very much appreciated your thoughts about your ‘backordered life’, especially the gospel application to approaching the life you do have. Anyway, this was going to be a nice long personal email, but then I couldn’t find your email address, and my girls wouldn’t go to sleep, and had to get up and have watermelon and corn chips and milk, and by now I’ve technically been at your website for a really long time, and yet haven’t been at the computer at all, so I thought I’d just comment at you instead.

    I felt proud when I read your comment, because I thought, “Hey, she’s insightful and spiritual, and I already read her blog – aren’t I a smart girl!”

  9. Jason says:

    It’s a very becoming cut and length. You and A. did good.

    Charming anecdote.

    You could persuade her to cut your hair despite her new flea-bottomy direction, as long as she doesn’t get confused and draw blood.

  10. Hannah says:

    Is “A” short for Aaaaaaaaah! Because that’s what I thought when I read the baby story. And her cousin must have come back with one nasty breast infection. (Can I say breast infection on your blog?) Anyway, I was thinking about starting a “fan” group on Facebook for “open air nursing”, but then thought about all the people who would hate me and decided not to. There is a point to this comment. What I really meant to say is:

    Love your new haircut. You are on sexy momma. Yowza!

  11. Danielle says:

    Woah. That haircut is so amazing on you – perfect even. Love it!

  12. zstitches says:

    Thanks, each of you! I don’t think I’ll be able to achieve quite the same look when I style my hair myself, but it’s still a good cut.

    Thora, I had to check whether that comment from DeNae’s blog had made it into one of my recycled comment posts, and it’s the first one in a draft I’ve got. I’ll have to put it up soon.

  13. zstitches says:

    Oh, and Hannah, yes, it has all the makings of a horror story, except for that it turned out so well (with a happy, well-fed baby.)

  14. pilcrow says:

    I forget that if I don’t check your blog regularly, I really miss out. I love your new hair. Also your new shirt. Also, funny story. Also, love you.

  15. Jennette says:

    Yes, fabulous hair! And I’m so paranoid about babies and eating that your story is making me think that I’m not feeding Saul nearly enough these days!

  16. zstitches says:

    Jennette, it was my own paranoia that even brought the topic up — I couldn’t help mentioning that I had left my baby at home, and what if she starved while I was gone?

    So far, knock on wood, Hazel seems fat and happy — and she should be, since I nurse her for about 40 minutes at a time, every time. Again, because I’m paranoid not to.

    Anyway, now you know how to know when Saul’s hungry — just feel his stomach! 🙂

  17. OhSusanna says:

    pretty. and chic. and sexy too.

Leave a Reply

