Perfect for a baby being raised in a three-ring circus

I sewed another pajama for Hazel:

Hazel_greenpjs01

I had a bad cold while I was working on this, and I also had some problems with it (technical sewing talk follows.)  I accidentally serged some of the seams in rolled hem mode, and had a hard time applying the snaps through the thickness of the yo-yos.  I’m not sure what I did differently than last time, but I need to rethink this idea so that there’s only one or two layers of fabric for the snap to go through.  It felt like it took forever and I thought it was pretty much a failed project, (I was calling it a clown suit,) but this morning, with my cold a little better and with cute Hazel modeling it, I like it fine.

This is McCall’s 3665 again, in size 0-3 months. Hazel is a petite 3 months and it fits her with some room to grow, and would have been huge on her as a newborn. I think to find Big 3 patterns (McCall’s, Butterick, Simplicity,) that really fit newborns, you’d have to use premie patterns.

Hazel_greenpjs03

Hazel_greenpjs04

Hazel_greenpjs02

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful), Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Perfect for a baby being raised in a three-ring circus

  1. Annette says:

    That last shot of her smile is freaking adorable. And I love those pajamas. So cute!

  2. Kristina says:

    You are so talented! She’s the best dressed baby in town.

  3. Adorable!!! I love it. She is mighty cute. I love newborns/babies (especially before mobility).

  4. UnkieJas says:

    Darling baby and pajama.

  5. Mrs. Organic says:

    You two make the cutest babies – and those jammies are great too.

  6. Trina says:

    I do love the yo yo’s. If I ever get a girl, I’d love for you to give me a tutorial, so I can try it.

  7. debbie says:

    How cute! And that smile is precious.

  8. Jen says:

    Did I mention that I love the yoyo snaps? Because I LOVE them. That is such a cute idea.

  9. You sewed that onesie pj? It’s darling. Love the button/closures. AmAzInG!

  10. Hannah says:

    very cute. My sewing experience is limited. I tried sewing Josh a pair of pajama pants before we were married. I didn’t have his measurements so I guessed. (Always better to guess on the large size right?) I ended up making them about ten sizes too big. We called them his circus pants because you could fit a three ring circus in them. I’ve never actually seen him wear them to bed and yet we still have them. Sentimental value? or a subtle reminder for me never to sew him anything ever again?

  11. zstitches says:

    Hannah, I have several sewing projects intended for Dean that never seem to make it to the top of the list (sewing for baby girls is more motivating.) Years ago I did sew a bathrobe for him that I’ve seen him wear about twice. I was going to make a bathrobe for me, too, and never got around to it — so when I need one, I borrow his. 🙂

    Just the other day I was once again thinking of making some pajama pants for Dean, but I’m deterred by my guess that he really prefers cut-off sweat pants, anyway.

  12. the MomB says:

    Sew cute (har har har). No, but really.

Leave a Reply

