Home management pop quiz

Scenario:  Your husband is sick with strep, and you’ve made dinner by yourself and gone to the evening session of Stake Conference with just your three-month-old in tow, leaving your husband to supervise the other kids’ baths and showers.  You come home to clean, sleeping children, a mostly-loaded dishwasher, and an otherwise messy kitchen, with the baby still needing her bath.  Also, the kitchen floor is coated in a layer of spilled grape soda and syrup, embedded with dirt and cereal crumbs.  You have a sore arm and shoulder from a cleaning spree earlier that week.  You finish loading the dishwasher and run it, clean the counters and table, and bathe the baby.  Next, do you:

A) Get out a bucket and mop, and scrub the kitchen floor?

Or do you

B) Keep your shoes on whenever you go in the kitchen?

For bonus points:  How does one persuade one’s children to mop the floor on Sunday, and also persuade them that to do so is not breaking the Sabbath? (Have you ever noticed how children become much more devout Sabbath-observers when the commandment-breaking involves their performance of household chores?) If the mom’s shoes permanently adhere to the grape-soda-and-syrup terrain, would that be considered a case of “ox stuck in the mire?”

(P.S. Don’t worry, I won’t really make the kids mop the floor tomorrow.  I’ll just keep wearing my shoes.)

This entry was posted in I think I'm funny, I think I'm not funny, Meanwhile in the real world. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Home management pop quiz

  1. Lili says:

    LOL, you definitely have a talent for making your misery funny to the rest of us. Sorry I laughed 😉

  2. Kristina says:

    Definitely keep on wearing the shoes.

  3. Mrs. Organic says:

    I tricked my kids into washing the floor. We each put a wet rag down on the floor and played a game to see who could get theirs dirtiest the fastest, but they could only use their feet to move the rag around. They automatically raced around to all the spill spots. Kids are great entertainment.

    It only worked once, though.

  4. zstitches says:

    Was this on a Sunday? 🙂 It sounds like a wholesome family activity.

    I used to scrub my family’s large concrete porch on my hands and knees with a scrub brush, while my imaginary step-sisters mocked me.

  5. Aunt Ginger says:

    I got a good laugh out of this, Zina! I completely believe that the Lord forgives Mothers the work they do at home on Sunday. If you read the ten commandments, carefully, and if you consider that the “thou” refers to the man of the house, then those that should not do any work are thou, thy son, thy daughter thy manservant, thy maidservant, thy cattle, nor the stranger within thy gates. It doesn’t mention “thy wife.” If you read it my way, you can’t compel your sons and daughters to do work, but you can do all the work necessary to keep your family happy on the Sabbath. (Yes, I know that there is a very good argument for “thou” being both man and woman.)

    Once on my mission I walked into the home of a newly baptized family who were getting their home cleaned up for a Sunday Evening fireside. I was shocked that she was vacuuming her floor on the Sabbath. SHOCKED!!!!! My mother would never have done so on the Sabbath.

    We hold choir in our home every Sunday, and almost every Sunday my vacuum is put to good use prior to their arrival. In my heart I know it would be better to be up in the late hours of Saturday evening getting my home tidy, but I am also confident that the Lord will bless me more for contributing to the success of our ward choir, than he will curse me for vacuuming on the Sabbath.

    Aunt Ginger

Leave a Reply

