Gray matters

I’m cutting out a pattern I haven’t sewn before, and I’ve learned from unfortunate experience that I do better at this part of a project if I’m not listening to music or podcasts.  Instead, my mind has been supplying the soundtrack, which tonight so far has consisted of refrains of The Mexican Hat Dance, (follow the link for a particularly lovely YouTube version,) interspersed with two of my favorite stanzas from Lewis Carroll’s satirical poem “Father William,” from Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland:

“You are old,” said the youth, “and your jaws are too weak

For anything tougher than suet;

Yet you finished the goose, with the bones and the beak–

Pray, how did you manage to do it?”

“In my youth,”  said his father, “I took to the law,

And argued each case with my wife;

And the muscular strength, which it gave to my jaw,

Has lasted the rest of my life.”

For best effect, sing the poem to the tune.  And then be grateful you don’t live in my mind.

This entry was posted in I think I'm funny, Me thinking about stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gray matters

  1. OhSusanna says:

    ROFL

  2. OhSusanna says:

    Actually I would love a tour. Of your mind.

Leave a Reply

