Hazel’s blessing day

Well, I think I have solved the problem of the disappearing photos, and it was almost laughably simple.  It turns out I can host my photos right here on WordPress and I don’t have to link to Picasa nor Flickr.  To celebrate, here’s a bevy of photos from Hazel’s blessing day (which was May 3rd.)  Do please tell me if you can’t see the photos, but I really think this will solve it.

Update Thursday morning:  I was just showing Henry these photos and asking, “Who’s that?” and he answered, “Ahzel [Hazel.]  Pwincess dwess.”

HazelBlessingGown

Her gown was handmade by my maternal grandmother Grace Huntington (Hazel Grace’s namesake) for my mother, and has been worn (by my quick estimation) by well over 20 babies.


HazelBlessingGownSkirt

Detail of hem (wrinkled by late afternoon)


HazelBlessing05

HazelBlessing04

HazelBlessingMabel01

HazelBlessing03

HazelBlessingRose01

Rose’s dress was a generous gift from an online sewing friend, sewn for Mabel when Rose was a baby.  Rose’s bruise on her forehead was a generous gift from Henry when he threw a Hot Wheels car at her.

HazelBlessingMabel02

HazelBlessingNaughtyChildren

(Naughty children.  I don’t normally let my kids draw with sidewalk chalk in their Sunday best, which gives you a good guess as to which of their parents took this photo.)

HazelBlessingZina01

HazelBlessingFamily01

HazelBlessing01

HazelBlessing07

This entry was posted in Meanwhile in the real world, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful), Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Hazel’s blessing day

  1. debbie says:

    Fabulous photos. That gown is incredible.

  2. lili says:

    My, there are some fab photos in there!

    (Funny with the photo problem. Do you know, does WordPress have an upload limit–are you going to one day find yourself out of space, and having to pay to upgrade, or switch to a host? I remember seeing something like that when I first started blogging? (But then, Picasa has an upload limit–which I’ve reached. And I did pay to upgrade space, b/c I like Picasa online albums…except for the wordpress incompatibility problem)

    • zstitches says:

      The storage limit is 3G, and since I resize all my photos before uploading anyway, the WordPress storage should last me years. (I’m only using a titch of my Picasa space.) Maybe I should use my Picasa account as a web backup for as many of my photos as I can fit (which would just be a fraction, if I store them at full size.) I don’t remember who had told me I would have to use a separate photo host with WordPress. Maybe it was true at the time — or they had some other reason to do it that way that didn’t apply to me.

  3. lili says:

    I really do need to not be reading/commenting on blogs and pack… I wish I didn’t hate packing so much.

    • zstitches says:

      I didn’t remember that you hate packing. You of all people shouldn’t hate packing. (I just mean because you’ve traveled a lot.) I used to actually love packing before I had kids; it was a sort of game to see how light I could pack. One time I was trying to pack for a trip with Isaac as a baby and I’d spent ages trying to fit all I needed to bring in the small bag I’d planned to us,e and it was NOT working and I was going to miss my flight, and Dean saved the day when he suggested I just use a bigger suitcase. I’ve never looked back — and now even when I’m traveling alone, I can’t seem to pack light for the life of me. (I can’t, for example, pack just one book — what if I feel like reading something different when I get there?)

      Good luck. Actually even Knott’s Berry Farm sounds fun to me if it was with you guys.

      • lili says:

        No. I don’t enjoy packing, nor do I ever remember enjoying it. It usually takes me way too long b/c I am trying to keep it light and/or accessible, which takes far more planning and organization than the throw-it-all-in-a-suitcase-even-if-you’re-not-sure-you’ll-actually-need-it approach.

        Suzy and I were both talking about how we used to try and pack super light…but the more I travel, the more I lean toward comfort–ie having things with me. All in all I did pack pretty light this time around, though. (Though Suzy was impressed that I had moleskin–and a tiny pair of scissors to cut it with–for her to use during her run…so it is true that I have small sized things ready to be packed–and that I’ve gotten pretty good at packing, which is a result of having had to do it so frequently).

  4. Debbie says:

    You have a beautiful family.

  5. Mrs. Organic says:

    Isaac’s pose is awesome-so reflective. An amazing amount of work and love must have gone into the making of that dress, it’s beautiful.

  6. Melanie J says:

    I’m glad you resolved your photo issues. I know that was making you crazy.

    Your kids are beautiful.

  7. Kristina says:

    I can see all the photos! And she looks beautiful. The gown is so lovely.

  8. Thora says:

    I can see them all too! Yay! That dress is beautiful – I love the long Blessing dress look. Also, I love the photo wealth of your beautiful family.

  9. Erin says:

    What beautiful children you have! And I love the dress. The sidewalk drawings look very nice too. 🙂

  10. Lis says:

    That dress is gorgeous!

  11. Jennette says:

    wow! Gorgeous….the dress and the children and especially that baby. Congrats.

Leave a Reply

