Guess why? Chicken thigh

Rose was asking to turn on the TV. “We didn’t watch TV yet today.”

Me: “You didn’t jump on the trampoline yet today, either. Why don’t you and Henry go jump on the trampoline?”

Rose: “I don’t want to. Henry, do you want to jump on the trampoline?”

Henry: “Yeah!”

They head outside, but Rose is back in a moment. “It’s very cold outside.”

Me: “But jumping on the trampoline is exercise, and it will get you warm.”

Rose: “No it won’t. Jumping on the trampoline is exercise, but it won’t make me warm. Henry, what do you think: is jumping on the trampoline exercise?”

Henry: “Yeah. Butt chicken cow!” Henry and Rose laugh.

(Note: This must be Henry’s version of “Guess what? Chicken butt!” Not that any member of my household has ever used that crass joke before, so he must have come up with it out of thin air.)

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Guess why? Chicken thigh

  1. Kristina says:

    I’m sure it totally came out of thin air.

  2. Aunt Ginger says:

    We have a family tradition of blaming (thanking) Grandpa Voyle Wood for fixing things during the night that were previously broken. One day something started working that had previously been not working and Roland said, “There we are! Voiled again.

    Grandpa Voyle was named for his Aunt Violet. I’ve never ever met nor heard of another person with the name of Voyle.

  3. debbie says:

    That’s too funny. I’m just the kind of mom that cracks up at things like that.

  4. the MomB says:

    LOL. Sounds like Henry was your ally in this event, tho’.

  5. Jason says:

    As much as I like to think otherwise, I think “Butt chicken cow” is simply a hysterically funny string of words for kids of their age.

    I used to be able to send Tristan and Dominic, age 3 and 2 respectively at the time, into histrionics by merely saying, “Butt poop.”

  6. zstitches says:

    Are you saying that “Butt chicken cow” is not a hysterically funny string of words to those of a more mature age?

  7. Jason says:

    Judge for yourself: “Butt chicken cow!” Did that work on you?

  8. zstitches says:

    You don’t tell it as well as Henry does.

  9. OhSusanna says:

    LOLOLOL. I must confess that my response when my kids say “mom, guess what?” is often “chicken butt!”. So I felt a little chagrined and kept my mouth shut when Dean told me once that the latest crass thing that your kids always say and that he hates is “guess-what-chicken-butt.” I’m sorry if they learned it from us.

  10. zstitches says:

    You give yourself too much credit, Sooz. 🙂

Leave a Reply

