The price for creative projects on Saturday is a very messy house on Sunday. Also, I think I have this Mother’s Day thing backwards

For my Mother’s Day gift to myself, I gave myself a few hours this afternoon to go in my sewing room and play. These iron-on transfer shirts were going to be for the kids’ Easter baskets but turned out to be my Mother’s Day gift to them, instead. The kids love the shirts. I hadn’t finished Henry’s when I ran out of time, but he was so disappointed that I went ahead and finished it anyway, and he’s thrilled with it. If we’re lucky we’ll get the kids bathed and to bed by 10 tonight, and I’m not even going to try to get the house clean.

(Please let me know if the disappearing photo problem happens — I think it’s worst in posts with lots of photos.)

From BlogPics 2

I first got the idea to do t-shirts when I saw these amazing photos of horses with real hair extensions, and just knew Rose needed one of them on a t-shirt.

. . .

From BlogPics 2

A photo of one of Isaac’s most elaborate papercrafts to date. He worked on it while watching General Conference.

From BlogPics 2

On the back of the shirt, a reproduction of the papercraft pattern.

. . .

From BlogPics 2

Mabel wants a pet hedgehog. This hedgehog family going off to church is from a vintage children’s book I found on Flickr.

. . .

From BlogPics 2
From BlogPics 2
From BlogPics 2
From BlogPics 2
From BlogPics 2
This entry was posted in Creative miscellany, Kid Crafts, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The price for creative projects on Saturday is a very messy house on Sunday. Also, I think I have this Mother’s Day thing backwards

  1. Kristina says:

    What a great idea! And so easy. I see iron-on Snuggies!!

  2. Lili says:

    ohmygosh. Especially at the horse. But also at the papercraft and patterns. They’re all fantastic.

    I don’t know if there’s supposed to be a close up of Henry’s before the close-up of Rose’s. If so, it’s not showing. But all the rest seem to be there.

    PS. I’m a trekkie now. Loved the film.

  3. marymary says:

    The hedgehog family! The robot! Links, please.

  4. zstitches says:

    I’ll have to go looking for them again. 🙂 And I’m not sure I completely followed the Creative Commons license (but I’m not selling ’em, at least.)

    Robot:

    Vintage robot toy to Finland NL-112114

    Hedgehog fam (I guess they’re going to town, not to church):

    hedgehog - from the Animals' Merry Christmas book

  5. Acheté says:

    Oh my those are darling t-shirts. Oh my.

  6. Cheryl says:

    I love these t’s Super cute. Oh, yeah your kids are cute too! hehe
    Thanks so much for letting Ashby come over to play! It made her day! Happy Mother’s Day too

  7. katie higbee says:

    I just want to say that I think your kids are brilliant and you are amazing. I so love to read your blog and am inspired by you!

  8. Thora says:

    Those are darling (except the boys – they’re very handsome and masculine and stuff). I can see all the photos, too!

  9. zstitches says:

    Aww, thanks! Really.

  10. Jennette says:

    Those are awesome! What else can I say? Wow.

  11. Mrs. Organic says:

    I really love these (and want a how-to, please). I know it’s probably easy, but I’m craftically challenged.

  12. Jason says:

    What is not to love about those!

  13. ashley says:

    Can you buy iron-on paper to use in your computer printer? What a fun project idea!

  14. zstitches says:

    Yes, you can, Ashley, and I was planning to give instructions as per Mrs. Organic’s request . . . but Henry’s shirt came out of its first wash (in cold water, with the shirt turned inside-out) cracked and peeling. I think maybe the fabric of his shirt is too soft and pliable to support the transfer (and that’s how a lot of shirts are these days,) or I didn’t use enough heat and pressure — I don’t know. I’m going to see whether it can be salvaged.

Leave a Reply

