Speaking of things that are new,

I have an idea for an invention, and I’m willing to give up my intellectual property rights to anyone willing to develop it and market it. Here’s how it works. Imagine that someone, for example, a child, has just finished using the bathroom. My invention is attached to the toilet, and when the child stands up, a weight sensor will trigger a timer that will allow five seconds for the toilet to be flushed. If it has not been flushed by then, my invention emits a horrible piercing shrieking sound which continues until the toilet is flushed.

Simple, easy, effective. And, like I said, totally up for grabs — as long as you let me purchase the first three manufactured.

This entry was posted in Creative miscellany, I think I'm funny. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Speaking of things that are new,

  1. Mary Ann says:

    In Berlin there are public toilets which self clean after each use. Everything. It is almost like an enclosed little car wash/bathroom which is all automated and has new agey music playing when you use it (I don’t know what music plays during the self-cleaning feature because it won’t clean if someone is inside of it). I admit that it wouldn’t have the same behavioral advantages as your invention, but I don’t care who flushed the toilet so long as it is flushed.

  2. zstitches says:

    I wonder if they are available for use in private homes.

  3. Mrs. Organic says:

    That would be awesome!

  4. Trina says:

    I want one that automatically wipes the seat (etc.) too, since apparently that is an unlearnable skill for boys. We can dream, right?

  5. marymary says:

    I was going to say, why not just a toilet that flushes itself? but then I realized your invention is much more responsible, because your kids would already be in the habit of flushing it themselves when they use toilets elsewhere.

  6. debbie says:

    I love it! And can it also emit a sound if they have managed to pee all over the outside of the toilet? Not that my boys have ever done that:)

  7. ashley says:

    And can it also trigger a siren if they walk out of the bathroom without washing their hands, hanging up the towel or turning out the light?

  8. Lis says:

    It should also make sure that the proper amount of toilet paper is used. My children think the options are none or the whole roll.

  9. Jason says:

    You probably already know that public bathrooms have toilets that use motion detection to trigger flushing when you move away from the commode.

    I think your methodology is interesting, but I also think home applications beg toddlers to play to the point of flooding.

    I’ve used pissoirs, as self-contained public toilets are sometimes called. I used the one in I don’t remember which part of San Fran. It charges a dollar to get in and then sanitizes itself upon exit.

    I also seem to remember Tim Allen’s character on Home Improvement implementing my dream of a self-cleaning home bathroom. My mind’s-eye’s version is all tile and chrome or stainless steel. Rubber seals on the doors and windows. A button pushed and…woosh! Hygiene!

Leave a Reply

