Things that are hard

1. Pregnancy and giving birth

2. Caring for a bunch of kids

3. Running a household

4. Opening a warm Dove egg while driving

Unrelated subject matter tacked onto this post:

While driving home from the doctor’s office today (lab results all good except my ferritin was on the low side so I’ll be getting more iron shots and also my thryoid was running a little high so I’ll be cutting back my levothyroxin a little) I took a detour through a neighborhood I was passing, because I wanted to look at the cute old houses. A kid was standing by the side of the road with a cardboard sign, and once I’d stopped to see that it said “Snow cones 50 cents” I didn’t have the heart to drive off without getting one. He grinned and used a walkie-talkie to report my order to his comrades inside the house, and after a couple of minutes another kid brought out my snow cone. The second kid said “Sorry that took so long,” and added, “We’re not doing too well today.” After I drove off I kind of wished I’d asked whether he meant their service wasn’t quite up to par, or they didn’t have many customers. Maybe he meant both.

This entry was posted in I think I'm funny. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Things that are hard

  1. Erin says:

    How cute! My mom said she never goes by a lemonade stand (or anything of the like) without stopping to purchase one. I think that’s a great idea.

    Dove eggs…mmm…

    • zstitches says:

      I’ll also buy something from any child who comes to my door selling things, and I think my neighborhood kids are on to me — but that’s okay, it’s my part to keep the economy going amongst the little ones. (I do make an exception for those horrible school fundraisers where they sell overpriced junk and the cheapest things offered are out of my price range — but I’ll still make a small cash donation if they’ll take it.)

  2. Mrs. Organic says:

    #4 – there’s not a whole lot that’s trickier (or more delicious)

  3. Lili says:

    That’s a cute story.

  4. Thora says:

    Oh, kid entrepreneurs! My heart always breaks when I see them with their little homemade signs, so hopeful that cars will stop. Which may be the exact advertising tactic they employ, but it’s an effective one….

  5. Marianna says:

    My kids sold Otter Pops on the BART green belt. Once they found the right price ($.25) they did pretty well. Well at least they had fun, I don’t know how much profit they made. 🙂

  6. Melissa says:

    Ha, ha, ha! You always make me laugh!

  7. LOL at number 4…and you’re right, that IS hard, except I’m usually opening a Rolo’s!!!

    Now I’m curious what they meant? Since you’re not sick from the Snow Cone, I’m going to assume all was good on that front! lol!

  8. Hi there–thanks for trying to leave a comment on Jami’s guest post on my blog today–comments that are left on posts older than three days need to be moderated mostly so that I know they are there and I can read them and enjoy them. THanks for visiting!

  9. Blond Duck says:

    Popped in from Shelle’s to say hi! I can never resist the lemonade stands either–even though I hate lemonade!

  10. marymary says:

    Speaking of warm chocolate eggs, Zuzu pulled a couple of them out of her pocket in the middle of music class today (it was the day for parents to visit). I jumped up and ran to her teacher’s kitchen for a rag to take care of it before too much damage occured, got them thrown away and her cleaned up — and then she pulled a couple more out of the other pocket.

  11. OhSusanna says:

    Usually I’m eating french fries when I’m driving.

    I always seem to be in a hurry when I’m driving and I HATE to see the little entrepreneurs’ faces as I pass them. So when I do have time to stop, I pay extra.

    I agree that running a household is hard–that’s why I usually try to avoid running mine. The problem is that nobody else seems willing to pick up the slack. Lazy bums.

    • zstitches says:

      Yeah, Suz, I was speculating about running a household being hard, since I haven’t actually tried it. (Well, okay, actually I’ve made a few attempts, and they usually involved a lot of my yelling.)

  12. I found your blog through Sugar City Journal and had to let you know I’m having a giggle at the thought of opening a chocolate egg while driving. Oh, the visuals!!

  13. jenlinmin says:

    I thought you literally meant a dove’s egg and I could not believe you weren’t going to elaborate on why you were trying to open a bird’s egg in the first place, let alone doing it while driving. I think I’m having a “slow” day…

  14. zstitches says:

    If it makes you feel better, Jen, Dean says he did the same thing. He said I need a trademark sign next to the word Dove. 🙂

  15. Danielle says:

    HAHAHA.

    An actual dove’s egg? I didn’t even think of that. Oh my goodness!!! That will keep me laughing all day.

    Thank you ladies!

  16. Melanie J says:

    Opening a warm Dove egg? While driving? That’s very ambitious of you.

Leave a Reply

