Just go ahead and say it — the girl needs a Snuggie (or a bathrobe) (the poor neglected waif owns neither)

Direct quote from Mabel on why slippers will not help get her feet warm: “They’re soft, but they don’t make me warmer. Never have, never will.”

She wants to walk around wrapped in a blanket, and I won’t let her, because: a) I’m tired of blankets getting dirty and being left around the house, and b) I want her to work with me on housecleaning, and I find her to be a less effective worker when she’s wrapped in a blanket. I’ve told her that she’s welcome to put on a coat and slippers, but she insists that this won’t help. I say, “I believe it will.” She says, “It’s never worked before, so why would it work now?” I say, “You might not be as warm as with a blanket, but at least you’ll be warmer than without a coat and slippers.” She says, “No I won’t. I’ve tried it before and it’s never worked.”

She asks me to turn up the heat, and I check the thermostat and say, “It’s 70 degrees.” She: “It feels like it’s 52 degrees.” Me: “It’s 54 degrees outside, so you can go outside and get a pretty good idea of what 52 feels like.” She: “The thermostat’s inside, so how does it know what temperature it is outside?” Me: “I don’t know.” She: “It’s WRONG. It’s inside so it can’t know what the temperature is outside.”

—-

Sigh. I’m going to get these kids to help me get some work done today if it kills me. And it might.

This entry was posted in Meanwhile in the real world, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Just go ahead and say it — the girl needs a Snuggie (or a bathrobe) (the poor neglected waif owns neither)

  1. Kristina says:

    She needs a Snugglette! A Snuggie for kids. And I am not joking.

  2. katie higbee says:

    She needs to be a lawyer… send that girl to law school!

  3. debbie says:

    My kids like to wear little or no clothes in the winter and walk around wrapped in blankets. Why?

  4. Danielle says:

    Wow, she’s a sassy little thing, isn’t she? But she’s so smart, she’s sassing you in a respectful way. Now THAT takes skill.

  5. Mrs. Organic says:

    Maybe the girl has a fever? She sounds just like my oldest daughter – very lawyerly.

  6. Jennette says:

    I’ve got a blanket-wearer at my house too! And usually that blanket smells terrible from all the dragging around. I’m ready to throw it out.

  7. Jason says:

    Clearly, Mabel’s jaw is warm enough.

  8. delightsgal says:

    Hi Zina,

    Nice to not be alone in the mmb wordpress world! I’ve read some stuff on buttons, but haven’t had any luck. I’ll be sure and let you know when I figure something out. btw, your blog is charming. Glad to be here. take care, katrina

Leave a Reply

