Why I’m up until after 2 AM Easter morning

is because I’m insane,

but also because after a very long day and crazy-busy week, (replete with nursing sessions, but also other non-baby commitments,) I couldn’t get myself to start ironing clothes for church tomorrow until 1 AM. And the clothes had to be ironed tonight or not at all, since we have 9 AM church and I wouldn’t have had time to do the ironing in the morning. I did think about sending the kids to church in wrinkled clothes, but couldn’t bring myself to try out a new mothering low on Easter Sunday. I guess I could have sent them in already-pressed Christmas dresses, but I didn’t think of that option until now.

Also, after meaning to do this for about 3 years, I finally painted with white paint over the dark green acrylic paint that Mabel got on the hand-smocked dress I made for her. The white paint blotches look marginally better than the green ones did. I just hope the dress fits Rose, because she has other things she could have worn, but they’re not ironed. So I hope I put all my eggs into the right basket.

I also hope the principle of resurrection helps moms of newborns get out of bed on Easter morning. I have a sore throat and every reason to stay home from church — except for a bunch of cute kids in lovely, (if outgrown,) ironed clothing.

At least we do our Easter baskets on Saturday, so I don’t still have that to think about.

This entry was posted in Health or lack thereof, I think I'm not funny, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Why I’m up until after 2 AM Easter morning

  1. Kristina says:

    I’m sure you will all look great!

    Happy Easter, Zina.

  2. Mrs. Organic says:

    I think you get major points for effort. They will all look lovely.

  3. Jason says:

    Happy Easter, tired mommy of 5! There is no rest for the Y kid.

    (Just called Grandma Marie’s house to decline Clare’s thoughtful Easter dinner invitation. Also got to talk to Marian briefly, who does not care about Eternal Life so much as the Dollar Store, bless her heart.)

  4. OhSusanna says:

    New mothering low? I can’t remember the last time I ironed my kids’ clothing for church. I did finally start sending the boys’ shirts to the cleaner’s to be pressed, though. If Ian can’t find a white shirt for church then I know it’s still crumple up in the “to be sent” dry cleaning bag. I still don’t iron it even in that scenario.

    So if I ironed my kids’ clothing only for Easter it would be like my new mothering high.

  5. Downy wrinkle releaser.

  6. Can’t wait to see pictures!

Leave a Reply

