Easter egg statistics

Number of eggs cooked: 36

Number that cracked during cooking process, consumed immediately: 4

Number dyed and decorated last night at my sister’s house (thanks, Suzy!): 32

Number dropped and cracked by Henry by accident this morning: 6

Number cracked by Henry on purpose this morning: 1

Number left on ottoman in living room by Henry, uncracked: 6

Number of dyed/decorated eggs eaten by 2 PM today: 10

Number peeled but not eaten: 1

Remaining eggs, cracked: 5

Remaining eggs, intact: 16


The eggs on the left and right were decoupaged, but it didn’t work well since the scrapbooking cardstock was too stiff. Dean made the middle egg by first dipping it in vinegar water, then dropping some red dye on it.


These were made by placing the plant on the egg, then wrapping a piece of a stocking around the egg and tying it up tightly, then dying the egg. The right and left eggs used cilantro, and the middle one is some sort of pretty white groundcover flower.


(Number of fussy babies waiting for me to finish this post so I can feed her: 1)

This entry was posted in Creative miscellany, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Easter egg statistics

  1. Kristina says:

    That is the sweetest picture!

    And your eggs are awesome. I can’t even make hardboiled eggs. 😦

  2. marymary says:

    It occurred to me just now (vis-a-vis our whole paper discussion last night) that lightweight, opaque wrapping paper would be great.

  3. Danielle says:

    Wow, those look great!

    And look at that baby! Growing so fast. *tear* 😉

  4. Mrs. Organic says:

    Have you seen Scribbit’s tie-dyes version using old ties? No one here but Mr. O will eat hard-boiled egss, so we don’t usually dye them. I miss the bright colors, so thanks for the eye candy.

  5. zstitches says:

    Mary made some last year:

    http://straightfromthehose.blogspot.com/2009/04/last-years-easter-eggs.html

    I’d love to try that some time.

    My kids LOVE hard boiled eggs and I only make them at Easter so they’re thought of all the more as a delicacy. I do hate the mess.

  6. Lili says:

    I loved hard-boiled eggs when I was a wee lass. But I never eat them now. (Except for hot off the stove). My roommate just made deviled eggs with some of the ones I dyed, though. I seem to recall liking them okay…maybe I’ll try ’em.

    That red egg turned out awesome, as did your leaf ones. I’m slightly sad I didn’t get a pic of all our leaf ones together, but oh well 🙂

  7. Melanie J says:

    Those eggs in the middle are really pretty but nothing beats that good little egg in the last picture. So cute!

  8. Trina says:

    Love the “botanical print” eggs. I thought I might try to do some of them with my boys last night, but it was all I could do to keep cups of dye from spilling or splashing, and eggs from cracking–it seems my kids are all about speed and quantity rather than artistry.

  9. zstitches says:

    LOL, Trina –that sounds so much like Isaac. Once for school he was supposed to make a musical instrument and I felt like Dean was doing too much of it for him (although he did involve Ike in the design, the workmanship was done with grown-up tools so Dean had to do it himself,) so I told him to be sure to let Isaac paint it. (It was a little thumb piano.) So we got out the paints and brush and put an apron on Ike, and he painted it — in one minute, and he was done and completely satisfied. I’m not even exaggerating about how short of a time it took him to do.

    (On the other hand, he did spend all of Conference assembling some VERY complex Pokemon papercraft, so I guess there are areas where his standards are a little higher.)

    I was thinking that next year, or maybe even next month, I’d like to decorate some blown eggs (maybe even purchase some that are pre-blown) without the kids helping.

  10. What a great Mom. I have not done the dying of the eggs. Too lazy. Maybe next year, although the statistics may have scared this Mom from this activity.

  11. zstitches says:

    LOL — sorry to scare you off of something so FUN. (I don’t know if I’d have gotten around to it if Suzy hadn’t hosted us.)

    I don’t have much for the Easter baskets (other than a whole lot of candy) but I don’t have much energy to try to augment the loot. It’s been a busy week (on top of the basic overwhelming task of caring for a newborn, Ike and Mabel had lots of soccer games and practices, and I had Relief Society things on two nights, and the egg-dying event at Suzy’s house,) and I have a headache and sore throat and Henry has a cough, and we have babysitters coming and I almost called and told them not to come, but decided if my choice is to be sick at home or sick while out on a date with Dean, the second option is slightly more appealing. And I’ll just tell the sitters to try to stay out of range of Henry’s coughing.

Leave a Reply

