Side benefits from having a husband who reads graphs for his job

Yesterday at Mabel’s first checkup with our new pediatrician, he showed us a dot on the weight graph which showed she was higher than the 90th percentile for weight. Then he showed us the graph for her height, which was similarly high, and said that her weight was just right for a girl so tall. Mabel looked confused and said, “But I’m one of the shortest in my class.” I agreed, and wondered, “Is it that she has a March birthday?” The doctor pulled out a measuring tape to check that her height had been recorded right, and, yes, she was 50″ tall, just like the chart said. He said, “She just seems short when you’re comparing her to girls 9 months older.” I said, “My husband is very tall, and so are his sisters.” Mabel said, “But Rose is already almost as tall as me,” and I said, “I guess she’s going to be VERY tall.”

When Dean got home, we told him our surprising news that Mabel was tall for her age, and, seeing the growth curve chart where I’d tossed it on the counter, I handed it to Dean. He glanced at it and said, “That’s because the chart has her as six years old.” He moved the dots for her height and weight over to the 9-year-old column, which showed her height and weight to be around the 30th percentile for her age.

For the rest of the evening, Dean kept teasing Mabel: “You’re HUGE for a six-year-old! You’re bigger than any other six-year-old I know!”

This entry was posted in But Dean is the funniest, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Side benefits from having a husband who reads graphs for his job

  1. Kristina says:

    That’s so funny that th e doctor didn’t catch that!

  2. zstitches says:

    Dean was laughing at all of us (me, Mabel, and the doctor) that we’d all found a way to rationalize the incongruous information.

  3. Mrs. Organic says:

    The doc needs new glasses. But what a good laugh.

  4. Danielle says:

    And this is your NEW pediatrician? 😉

  5. Acheté says:

    It makes perfect sense: Mabel is just as tall upside-down as she is right-side-up, and nine upside-down is six.

  6. the MomB says:

    Yeah, but she was right-side-up at the doctor’s office. This did make me lol, especially Dean.

  7. debbie says:

    Thank goodness you all didn’t freak out! I’m glad she is “normal”.

  8. zstitches says:

    Danielle, although it’s a very long story, our old doctor messed up in a similar but much more harmful way. (Short version: failed to notice that Rose wasn’t growing when she was an infant.)

    Tracy, more to the point, the 6 is just under the 9 on a keypad.

  9. Lili says:

    hahaha, loved this.

  10. That’s great. Love all these stories.

  11. Elliot says:

    That’s awesome!

  12. Trina says:

    I hate those growth charts, and I’ve decided to pretty much ignore them (yes, I’m up for “Mother of Year”) since they charted my #1 on a girl’s chart for the first 9 months of his life, and especially since #2 not being even on the chart until he was three was a constant source of stress for me, and a source of repeated testing for him. (I’m also up for “longest most rambling sentence in a blog comment ever.”)

  13. zstitches says:

    Ah but Trina I think my long rambling comments on others’ blogs would have to win.

    I do have one friend whose doctors were always concerned about her son’s small size — but failed to diagnose him with Cystic Fibrosis until he saw a different doctor around age 3. So I guess a kid’s size is something to pay attention to, IF you a) chart it correctly and b) pay attention to other symptoms.

  14. Julie says:

    That’s so weird to me that someone with a March birthday would be considered young for her age! I’m from California, and my birthday is in November, but I’m not a year behind like other states have people, so I was always young for my grade. March would be pretty old in my mind!

  15. Pilcrow says:

    The other reason they check (and chart) kid’s growth records is to figure out when they’ve started puberty — and whether it’s too soon or too late or on time. The more you know.

  16. Sarah Nielsen says:

    That cracked me up! I hope Mabel enjoyed her excitement about being tall while it lasted.

Leave a Reply

