Mabel’s satirical worksheets

(You can click on the images to see larger versions.)

Hint: the one about Grandma, Lily and Andy is a trick question — the answer is “Neither, because Grandma’s dead.” Mabel assures me that she was thinking only of a fictional Grandma, and that she only used the names of two of my siblings (one misspelled, granted) completely inadvertently.

Also, if you were wondering, Mabel is NINE YEARS OLD. None of us doubts she will do great things in her life.

This entry was posted in Creative miscellany, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Mabel’s satirical worksheets

  1. Annette says:

    Those. Are. Awesome.

  2. Erin says:

    Nine years old. I never could have come up with that myself, and I’m 32!

  3. Jen says:

    Maybe I should consider homeschooling so I can use her excellent resources. Delightful!

  4. Lili says:

    Darn, she got me. I was sure grandma liked “me” best.

    I’m pretty much speechless. Those were stunning, Mabes.

    Oh–and HAPPY BIRTHDAY yesterday!

  5. Lili says:

    PS Did she come up with these while she was waiting for fast sunday to pass by?

  6. zstitches says:

    Nope, Lili, she ended up making the invitations for her birthday party (which will be this weekend) Sunday afternoon. She did these yesterday afternoon.

  7. Pingback: My sister’s blog is always entertaining, « Plants Need Water

  8. Mrs. Organic says:

    Who needs TV? She’s absolutely entertaining. The first one is my favorite (oh gosh, and the grandma question).

  9. Sarah Nielsen says:

    We need more worksheets like these in school to keep our kids on their toes!! This sounds like our house where everyone in the stories have to die by the end!

  10. marymary says:

    Jane will be thrilled to use these worksheets out for her play school.

    P.S. The correct answer is: Mary is smarter.

  11. With all the “dead” talk, it is a good time for talk of the resurrection!!!

  12. zstitches says:

    Well I did point out that Grandma could still have a favorite after she was dead. ๐Ÿ™‚ I think Mabel understands the resurrection very well but also takes childlike enjoyment in being playfully morbid.

  13. Danielle says:

    Are you kidding me?

    Oh my goodness! How amazing is she? She must take after her mom. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  14. JBSquared says:

    That is one of the funniest things I have ever seen! I hope my kids grow up to be this awesome. ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. Jessie W. says:

    Okay this is so freaking funny! I’m actually quite impressed that a 9-year old would come up with these little quizzes (however morbid they may be, lol). They are all very entertaining. I especially liked the 500 lb piece of hail scenario, I think its safe to say at least a minimum of 6 would be hurt, lol. Mabel is surely a one-of-a-kind kiddo! (Adorable!)

  16. Kristina says:

    She is hilarious!!! I see a Snuggie blog in her future!

  17. UnkieJas says:

    Plz have her checked immediately for worms.

  18. Cheryl says:

    Ryan and I agree, your kids are definitely better than TV!

  19. pilcroe says:

    Is she afraid of peaking too early? I was at 12. And consequently I did. Is it possible to die of neurosis? I think I might. These are hilarious.

  20. zstitches says:

    So far, she’s pretty fearless — but we’ll have to see if that lasts through adolescence.

  21. rebekah says:

    I โ™ฅ Mabel. She’s my new goddess. Also? Mabel! Best. Name. Ever!!

Leave a Reply

