Because I was young once, too

It’s Fast Sunday, and Mabel and Isaac are fasting until 4 PM, but Mabel always has a really hard time fasting and has been looking for something to distract her.

Me: “You could write in your journal.”

Mabel: “I just wrote in my journal two days ago.”

I try to think of what noteworthy thing might have happened two days ago. “When I was mean to you? Did you write all about how mean I was?”

Mabel grins sheepishly.

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful), Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Because I was young once, too

  1. Lili says:

    hahahahahaha

  2. Brian says:

    I’m guessing that you should have screamed at her so she would have something new to write about and therefore would be distracted! 😉

  3. Jen says:

    I often find myself not sending angry letters because I feel so much better after having written them.

Leave a Reply

