Something that, as a parent, you really don’t want to see

is your five-year-old avidly licking the sole of your shoe.

(Hypothetically, of course.)

She’s gonna have one fine immune system, if she makes it to adulthood.

UPDATE: My mom says I shouldn’t have left my reaction out of the story. Here was my reaction: “Rose, stop that. I said STOP THAT! You could get very sick from doing that! YOU COULD DIE!!”

This entry was posted in Health or lack thereof, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Something that, as a parent, you really don’t want to see

  1. Jason says:

    Please have her checked for worms immediately.

  2. Erin says:

    You know, I can certainly expect to see a one year old licking a shoe. But a five year old? Was there gum on the bottom? Ewww!

    Oh, and thank you for the information on the Monet painting today. I appreciate the cultural help, since I am clearly not competent in that aspect!

  3. Melanie J says:

    Yeah, I was thinking gum on the bottom, too.

  4. Jason says:

    OK, you you sweet ladies are really grossing me out.

  5. Mrs. Organic says:

    I’m thinking you must have stepped in chocolate. All chocolate is fair game.

  6. Jason says:

    Is not!

  7. Jessie W. says:

    LOL, ewwwww! That’s so funny yet disgusting at the same time. Rose is such a precocious lil pumpkin!

  8. Lili says:

    Ehm…
    Sometimes I identify with Rose too closely.
    I licked the bottom of Benjamin Goets’s (grammar?) shoe when I was… 5.
    The thing is, I did it for a prize. They (Benjamin and Rachel) had those amazing Japanese cracker snacks (that was the first time I had them, and I’ve been hooked ever since), and who knows who thought of it…but basically, they gave me the snacks as a reward for licking the bottom of their shoes. And I got lots of attention for it, too. And I’m pretty sure I licked it more than once (only the one event, though).

    GAAA. I can’t believe I did it. I can’t believe I remember it so vividly. And I can’t believe I just told this story to the Internets.

  9. Lili says:

    (That said, I do seem to have a pretty good immune system) 😉

  10. zstitches says:

    LOL, Lili. I never would have known. You boot-licker, you.

  11. Jason says:

    Please get Lili tested immediately for worms.

Leave a Reply

