Somebody’s having a growth spurt

Holy hungry baby. I don’t think there was even once when Hazel went more than 3 hours without nursing in the last 24 hours, day and night. And it seemed like more often she only made it 2 hours before she wanted a recharge. And then she’d nurse for 30 or 40 minutes. She even cried while I ate my bowl of cereal a few minutes ago (but I’ve got her in her swing now and she’s liking that fairly well.) I am sore, and very, very tired, and although my pre-growth-spurt plan had been to knock some things off of my to-do list today, I think I’m going to have to ignore the list and go into survival mode (sleep, graze, and feed the baby.) Thank goodness the TV did a good job of babysitting Rose and Henry while I got Hazel to take a 2-hour nap with me this morning (although I’ll probably pay a price when I find bread crusts under the couch and ball point pen drawings all over it.)

Update: The price paid turned out to be a block of cheese with tooth marks all over it where it had been half-gnawed away. (I’ll spare you a photo this time.) Apparently I’m living with a 2-year-old, 30-lb mouse named Henry. At least I think Henry was the culprit, since when I asked Rose about the cheese she’d eaten she checked under her pillow and said, “There’s nothing there, see?”

This entry was posted in Meanwhile in the real world, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Somebody’s having a growth spurt

  1. Acheté says:

    Naturally when you ask Rosie about secret eating she checks under her pillow. Hilarious.

    Isn’t it wonderful that Henry can feed himself? Someday Hazel will be able to do the same. In the meantime keeping the both of you fed and rested sounds like quite enough to do.

  2. American Yak says:

    That image of Henry as a mouse…most fitting, ha ha.

  3. Melissa says:

    Zina:

    I was wondering if you’d had your baby yet. I’m glad that you are all doing well. Your story cracks me up! Leaving the kids unattended for a bit always has consequences!

Leave a Reply

