A tip for storing jigsaw puzzles, and other glimpses of my obsessive-compulsive tendencies

A while ago I figured out that you can save a whole lot of storage space if you cut off the top of a jigsaw puzzle box and put it into a gallon Ziploc with the puzzle pieces.

Along those lines, I’d like to propose a new federal mandate that board game boxes all be sized and shaped identically. Can you imagine how much more beautiful the insides of closets could be? (Or, in my case, the tops of bookshelves?) If we can convince our lawmakers to drop the evil upcoming fluorescent bulb mandate and take on this instead, that will be a political cause I can get behind.

(Not that we have a lot of board games. Apparently those members of this family who favor games of the electronic persuasion are also the more prolific purchasers.)

This entry was posted in Me? Opinionated?, Taking self-deprecation to a remedial level. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A tip for storing jigsaw puzzles, and other glimpses of my obsessive-compulsive tendencies

  1. MindyHymas says:

    I second that motion! Although it’s a fun puzzle figuring out which game should go where so they all fit in the closet, right? The problem is when the kids want to play a game that is of course at the bottom of the stack…

  2. Jen says:

    We own two copies of Scrabble, two copies of Apples to Apples, and Candyland. All of which were given to us. My brother offered us a second copy of Candyland, but we declined.

  3. zstitches says:

    LOL, Jen. We do have Candyland but I think it’s stored with the jigsaw puzzles because I dismantled the box. And I would not want a 2nd copy either, since I loathe Candyland.

    I would take your 2nd copy of Apples to Apples, though. I like that game.

Leave a Reply

