Hip hip (hooray)

I just got back from Hazel’s 2-week checkup and Hazel’s hips were pronounced to be good. The doctor felt a little bit of looseness in the right hip (which is the really noisy one) and none at all in the left, but he was quite certain that neither was dislocated. He agreed with my guess about my estrogen making her joints loose, and said he’ll check them again at her 2-month checkup after they’ve tightened up, but he saw no reason for concern.

Also, she weighed 7 lbs. 1 oz today, so she’s more than regained her birth weight. It’s nice to get a payoff for all that nursing. The doctor also commented on her strong neck. It’s a family trait for our babies (my babies and also my nephews and nieces) to be able to hold their heads up very early — in fact, I’ve had the experience with more than one of my babies, including Hazel, where, one of the first times when I picked her up in the hospital, I briefly forgot to support her head but she held it up all on her own. I don’t suppose that’s anything to be proud about since it’s just genetics and not a conscious accomplishment of mine, but even so I do feel proud of my pretty and strong-necked baby. And I’m very grateful that, noisy hips notwithstanding, she won’t have to wear a harness to fix her hips.

——-
Henry’s been shouting “Bug” at me because he found a dead potato bug in an empty drawer. He’s very proud of it. I guess we’re all susceptible to being proud of our little bugs.

(Yeah, I guess I did just compare my sweet beautiful living baby girl to a dried-up dead potato bug — it wasn’t a very felicitous literary choice, was it?)

This entry was posted in Health or lack thereof, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful), Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hip hip (hooray)

  1. Amy says:

    So glad to hear her little hips are placed properly–and yes, I can vouch for her beauty and strong neck. I will be sending you some newborn studio pics soon–I am excited to get them to you. I have enjoyed your updated pics too!! Way to go on your hard work feeding Hazel too-she’ll be roly poly in no time at all!

  2. Virginia Wood says:

    Children do exhit funny attatchments to ood, strange, and sometimes gross things.

    When Jonathan was four or five, he had a season of vigorous wart growth on his fingers. I took him to see our skin doctor who shared with me this secret: Warts need oxygen to survive. If you wrap them up tightly and keep them in a state of dark and oxygen depravation they die.

    So we embarked on an effort to irradicate his warts (lots of them) by wraping first aid tape around them. One day as I was driving in the car, I noticed him unwrapping his bandages. I asked him why he was doing that. He said, “I’ve decided to let my warts live.” Happily, after a while, his warts decided, all on their own, to die anyway.

    Aunt Ginger

  3. zstitches says:

    Good to know about the warts, because I knew Isaac had one on his hand but just the other day discovered that he actually has a whole bunch of them now. I prescribed duct tape (I’d heard of that one but didn’t know it had to do with oxygen) but it already fell off but I guess we’ll try again.

  4. Virginia Wood says:

    Zina,

    I see no way to go back to correct ODD spellings (ood) and finger-flys gone wrong (exhibit). Forgive my sloppy reread before submission efforts.

    To be exact about the warts, the skin doc told me that about every third day I should remove the tape for a couple of hours or so to let the finger recover for a bit. The taped area tends to get wrinkly like its been in water for a while. Otherwise, a good wrapping of safety tape (or first aid tape) is sufficient. I imagine duct tape would work, too.

    Roland just ended his second attempt at finishing a 50 mile hike (had to be done within a 20 hour time frame). He succeeded last year. This time he gave up on mile 43 due to some pretty bad nausea. Seven of his hours were walked in the rain which wasn’t fun. Strangely enough, several of those attempting to do this hike wrapped their feet with duct tape between their toes and their arches and also their heels. So, maybe duct tape is also good for preventing blisters???? Of all those scouts and their leaders/family/friends who made the attempt, only seven people finished the fifty miles.Those that did started at 6 a.m. and finished about 10:30 p.m.

    Aunt Ginger

  5. American Yak says:

    I’ve started and finished a 50/20, but never walked the whole length, ha ha.

Leave a Reply

