Baby baby baby baby baby baby baby baby

That’s not me singing a pop song, that’s just me talking about the only thing on my mind these days.  My brain is completely worthless for anything else.

Hazel’s still got day and night mixed up.  Last night I decided to try to put her to bed at 8 PM.  About six feedings and 5.5 hours later, I got her to sleep at 1:40 AM.  (She did then sleep until about 7 AM, so that’s good, but I’m still zombified.)  It seems  like her pattern is to sleep for 5 hours, then nurse for 5 hours.  (And I’m here to tell you that even a 5-hour break  isn’t enough for me to recover from 5 hours of nearly-straight nursing.)  Then today she slept peacefully all day in between a few nursings.  It almost made me want to disturb her sweet slumber and tire her out before night, only I really didn’t have the energy to do that.

I did just get her to sleep in her cradle at only 10 PM, so I hope that bodes well for tonight.  I guess we’ll see.

I have something worrying me some.  When Henry was an infant, our doctor rotated his hip at his first checkup and found it made a  clicking sound, so he sent us to Primary Children’s Hospital for  a sonogram to check for hip dysplasia.  Henry’s hip was fine.  Now, when I change Hazel’s diaper and move her leg, I can hear a distinct click in her right leg.  (I’m not making it click on purpose, but it just does.)  Also, from my research when we thought Henry might have dysplasia, I remembered that dysplasia (which means the ball of the joint is not properly in its socket) is most common in  small premie girls who were breech.  It’s also common in oldest daughters, so at least Hazel doesn’t have that correlating factor, but I did learn today that another factor is low amniotic fluid (which I did have with Hazel.)  Of course Hazel’s not really a premie, and she wasn’t breech at birth, but she WAS breech in all her sonograms through about week 34.  So she does have some risks.  (Hip dysplasia occurs in about 3 or 4 of 1000 babies.)  If she did have dysplasia the treatment would be to have her wear something called a Pavlik harness for at least several weeks while the hip forms into a better position — the harness holds the baby’s hips out at an ideal angle for this to occur.  Obviously, I’m hoping Hazel won’t need this.  It’s also true that the mom’s estrogen can cause babies to have loose joints for a while after birth until they work the hormone out of their  systems, so ideally that will turn out to be all that’s causing Hazel’s hip click. She has her 2-week checkup on Thursday and I guess I’ll know more after that.

Baby baby baby baby baby baby baby baby baby

(She’s still astonishingly sweet and cute and a warm cuddly irresistible little bundle.  The kids are all still in love with her.  I know, I need to put up more photos.  One of these days . . . especially if it’s a day that’s actually a day and not a night.)

This entry was posted in Health or lack thereof, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Baby baby baby baby baby baby baby baby

  1. Kristina says:

    Wait, she actually eats for literally 5 hours? I didn’t even know that was possible!!!

  2. zstitches says:

    Off and on. She’ll nurse, fall asleep for a while, and wake up hungry again.

  3. zstitches says:

    And every time she fell asleep last night I’d put her in her cradle, and every time I did she’d wake up and scream like the world was ending. So I’d nurse her again. It’s possible I’m nursing her too much, but it would be worse to nurse her too little, so I’m just kind of letting her call the shots (so to speak.)

  4. Mrs. Organic says:

    If you head to PCMC I recommend Stevens or Stotts (one does more backs and one does more hips can’t remember who is who, but both are excellent doctors).

    About the marathon nursing, sometimes earlies don’t have as good a suck-swallow until their muscles develop better. Annie Miller used to consult through UV RMC – she is wonderful. I hope Hazel gets her days and nights sorted out so you can get some cumulative sleep.

  5. Mary Ann says:

    Hey Z,
    Another check for hip displasia is to lift her legs up like a diaper change and check her creases on the back. Symmetrical is good, asymmetrical is another clue to have it checked. And whatever happens, it’s a good thing to look into it now. The alternative to the brace is having debilitating hip pain and needing an osteotomy because of it. It’s a difficult and painful operation involving too many power tools, and my sister has had both hips done by 30. So don’t panic (our boys had the signs but are ok) but do ask the Dr. this week.

  6. zstitches says:

    Thanks, Corrie. I should have known you’re the expert on hip experts at PCMP. Hazel’s pretty strong (she can briefly lift her own head) and I think she’s actually a pretty good nurser. With both Rose and Henry things got in the way of their nursing well (both longish stories, but anyway neither made it through a full first year of breastfeeding) so I’m pretty anxious that things go well with Hazel, and it might be I’m therefore feeding her sometimes when she could be rocked to sleep instead, etc. Or another theory is that she’s nursing the right amount of times per day for her age and size, but just clumping her feedings all together in a row in a way that’s not so convenient for ME.

    MA, thanks, I’ll have to look at that next time I change her. I did find a click in her left hip this morning, too, although the right hip is worse and I’m afraid it does feel like the right one might be slipping in and out of its socket, although I hope I’m just imagining things. I AM resigned that if she does have dysplasia a harness is the best solution (the stuff I read said the same thing you did, that it causes lots of pain by young adulthood if not treated in infancy) although I do very much hope it won’t be needed.

Leave a Reply

