Technical difficulties

Two or three weeks ago our internet connection started going down about once or twice a day, with our only resort being to reset the modem. Now it’s progressed to where it goes down about once or twice a minute — right now I can’t even upload photos to Picasa because the connection goes out while it’s in the middle of uploading. Dean did speak to our ISP and the idea of their sending us a new modem was mentioned if other solutions don’t work (ours is several years old) so I need to get him to follow up on that. I sure hope it does the trick.

(I tell you all this to explain why the several photos I was about to post here will not be appearing in this space until things get ironed out. Also so that you can feel sorry for me, because a woman on semi-bedrest with no reliable internet connection is a pathetic being indeed.)

(Oh my. I’ve now tried four times just to post this, and it hasn’t worked yet. Urgh. Excuse me while I go throw some dishes at the wall and break a few chairs.)

This entry was posted in Metabloggish. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Technical difficulties

  1. Annette says:

    Who knew a thing we didn’t even have fifteen years ago would be so critical to our sanity today?! Hope it works out smoothly sooner than later.

  2. Melanie J says:

    That sounds exactly like our modem. But I spanked it and now it behaves.

  3. katie higbee says:

    I feel your pain and ditto to the first comment. I remember when I was hesitant to start learning this thing called “email” and that crazy “world wide web” and now feel like I’ve lost an arm when I can’t use it!

  4. Mrs. Organic says:

    It sounds like you have our former ISP, but a new modem does make all the difference.

  5. Pmom says:

    I hate technical difficulties! You have my sympathy!

  6. American Yak says:

    Sounds like all my relationships.

  7. Thora says:

    Last year our Internet connection was like this – and it was through the school whose property we lived on, so if it ever went out over the weekend, we had to wait until Monday to even report it. I think that not being able to control your Internet access is horrible. It’s like being locked out of a house, when you can peer in through the windows, but you might as well be in Siberia for all the closeness you are to getting inside. Hopefully it gets fixed soon – that much stress CAN’T be good for your blood pressure!

  8. Trina says:

    I had to smile picturing you throwing dishes against the wall and breaking chairs. πŸ™‚ Sounds more like something I’d do.

  9. Absolutely get a new box. We had this very same problem and it was cured almost 100% by an upgraded receiver box. In fact, when we turned it in the desk person was astonished that we were able to use it for as long as we did.

    Once in a while we have down time which is always cured by shutting down all the house computers, unplugging the two cords to the receiver and router and plugging everything back in.

    Hope you get it cured, soon.

    Aunt Ginger

  10. Lili says:

    I’ve been internetless for two weeks. I feel your pain. πŸ™‚
    Hopefully this week…

Leave a Reply

