Even scarier if you imagine the “Jaws” music playing in the background

I’m in my sewing room, ironing a shirt.  Rose and Henry have followed me in.  I finish ironing and pull off the shirt I’m wearing to replace it with the freshly-ironed one, and Rose screams and hides under my cutting table.

Me:  “What’s wrong?”

Rose:  [Points at me.]  “I’m scared of that thing.”

Me:  “What thing?”

Rose:  “That big white thing.”

Me:  “You mean my maternity camisole?”

Rose:  “Yes!”

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Even scarier if you imagine the “Jaws” music playing in the background

  1. Kristina says:

    Me too, Rose, me too.

  2. Lili says:

    I really did lol

  3. Trina says:

    Good late-night laugh.

    It reminds me of when I was getting large with Caleb and 3 year old Marcus came up and lovingly patted my belly while chanting, “fat, fat, fat, fat Mommy.” So what is the appropriate response?

  4. zstitches says:

    I have been trying to remember how I responded. I’m pretty sure I said “Yeah, I think it’s scary, too.”

    Henry seems to believe me when I tell him there’s a baby in my tummy (although I’m sure he has NO idea what the implications for his future are) but I always feel like I’m telling him some crazy implausible fairy story — why should any kid believe a woman who points to her belly and says “I have a baby in here”?

  5. Jen says:

    Laughed at this post.

    Once I told my nephew I had a baby in my tummy and his eyes got as wide as saucers, and he looked at my belly and said, “Can I see?”

  6. jenlinmin says:

    Your children really ARE funny and sweet and wonderful… and I know all of your loyal fans will agree that the the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree.

  7. Kristina says:

    OK, I didn’t realize it wasn’t clear that he did not wear the kilt, so I added a little disclaimer at the end.

    And thank your catching that posterity misstep!! Ack! I thought I had said ancestors. I always know I can count on you!

  8. zstitches says:

    Thanks, Jen! And Jen. 🙂

    Kristina, I love that you let me tease you/correct you without your getting offended.

Leave a Reply

