It’s cold and lonely on the moon

Isaac has a friend over, and while Isaac and his friend were watching a couple of videos on YouTube, (such as this one and this one,) I let Rose play on the Wii. But I didn’t know that Isaac and his friend had been in the middle of an important Wii battle which Rose interrupted, and when Isaac came back to find his game lost, he was angry with Rose. Rose ran away to her room crying. I told Ike it wasn’t her fault and he should go comfort her, but he was already engrossed in a new game, and within a couple minutes Rose emerged and went down to the family room. Then she came to me with two papers. One had her name on it and lines of scribbles, and the other had a large drawing of a face.

Rose: “This says that I’m leaving to go to the moon because my family was being mean to me! And I’m never coming back! And this is a picture of me so you can remember me.”

Me: “Oh, you’re leaving forever? Oh, that will be so sad for me. I’m going to miss you SO much. Do you think you could just go for a little while and then come back?”

Rose: “No, I’m never coming back.”

Me: “Well, I’m really going to miss you. Thank you for that wonderful drawing. Can I put it where I can look at it whenever I want to remember you?”

Rose: “I’ll put it by your bed for you.”

Me: “That will be great.”

Rose: “Actually this letter says, ‘Isaac, I’m not going to be your sister anymore because you were mean to me, so I’m only going to be Mommy’s daughter now.'”

Me: “So you’re going to stay with me? I’m so glad!”

Rose: “Can I have a Popsicle?”

Me: “Yes. And here’s a piece of candy, too.”

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful), Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to It’s cold and lonely on the moon

  1. I just LOVE the things kids say. And the power of a popsicle.

  2. Brian says:

    I’m glad Rose decided to stick around. Because who could blog about her conversations on the moon? 🙂

  3. Lili says:

    LoveitIloveitIloveitIloveit

  4. OhSusanna says:

    That whole conversation is so reminiscent of a Frances book.

  5. OhSusanna says:

    Or Frances books are so reminiscent of conversations with children.

  6. American Yak says:

    Oh my word. OH. MY.

    Love that Rose.

  7. JBSquared says:

    How sweet! Reading your blog just makes me smile inside. (And outside, too!)

  8. Trina says:

    So has Isaac ever tried/threatened to run away? Is it a girl thing? Because none of my boys has ever played that card, but I’ve sure felt like running away before.

  9. zstitches says:

    Trina, I can’t remember Isaac making that threat (although if we offered to let him go live at his friend’s house he’d gladly take us up on it) so maybe it is more of a girl-type threat.

    Come to think of it, though, we do have neighbors whose son did run away for an evening.

    And yes I have been very tempted to run away sometimes. 🙂

  10. American Yak says:

    It ain’t just a girl thing. Don’t you ever watch the movies? 😀

    I tried to run away once when younger.

  11. Melanie J says:

    I love it when my son writes me notes. Most of the time it’s the only way I can figure out what he’s thinking.

  12. Jennette says:

    Fabulous. I love 5 year olds for sure. And have I told you yet that I think that you’re a great mom?

  13. zstitches says:

    Thanks, Jennette!

    Of course, I don’t always blog about moments like yesterday morning when I was trying to get all four kids ready for 9 AM church while Dean was gone to early-morning church meetings and Rose decided that her church shoes were “broken” and wouldn’t put them on, and I tried to show her they weren’t broken and she wouldn’t let me near her, but I kept trying and she was kicking me, hard, and I was trying to hold her still while she scratched and kicked and I got so frustrated with her that I was in tears, and she was laughing at me, and I was so baffled about what to do that I finally just left her shoeless. Dean put her shoes on her when he got home (she’d softened her position a little by then I guess,) and I was TRULY puzzled about what I would have done if I were a single mom (take her to church barefoot?) But even though I don’t always post those stories, I don’t actually think they make me a bad mom anyway, just a “real” mom who’s still figuring things out as I go along.

    Anyway, thanks again! I think you’re a great mom, too.

  14. jenlinmin says:

    That story should be included in some sort of child psychology anthology. Well done, Z!

Leave a Reply

