Samples

To check that my high blood pressure isn’t pre-eclampsia, I had to do a 24-hour urine collection. That’s right, I had to collect all my pee for a full day and night. At this stage of pregnancy normally I have to get up to pee a couple of times each night, but last night my mind must have been worried about the project so kept waking me up, and every time I woke up I had to pee, so I was up about SEVEN times in the night. At one point I even dreamed I’d done the whole pee-collection wrong and had to start all over on a fresh 24-hour pee project.

When I brought my bright orange jugful of pee to the lab this morning, the lab worker said, “I’ll bet you’re happy to be rid of that.” So true. (More joy: even if the labwork comes back negative for toxemia, if my blood pressure stays up I’ll probably have to do the pee-collecting thing over again; maybe once a week. It’s all worth it for me and the baby to be well, of course. But not fun.)

Anyway this made me think of one of my favorite stories from Dan Peterson, who was one of Dean’s Arabic professors at BYU. I think this happened while Dr. Peterson was living with his wife and their young kids in Egypt, and one of his kids got an illness for which, to find the source, Dr. Peterson had to collect stool samples not just from everyone in his family, but from everyone in the household, which included an Egyptian gardener, a maid, etc. So he’s got the precious samples in a bag in one hand and he’s taking a bus to the lab, and it’s a crowded bus — standing-room only — so his other hand is clutched to a pole on the bus. And as the bus is going along, someone starts unbuckling his watch from the arm that’s clutching the pole. To stop the thief he would have had to let go of the bag of samples in his other hand. So he just stands there, and lets his watch be taken from his wrist.

This entry was posted in Health or lack thereof, Other people are funny. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Samples

  1. Annette says:

    Now that sounds like FUN. I’d be totally paranoid too. I had a bunch of other “fun” things during my pregnancies, but this wasn’t one of them. Shucks. 🙂

  2. zstitches says:

    Yeah. I’ve actually had late-term high blood pressure before, but either it wasn’t as serious, or my midwife is more alert this time. Objectively, I’m glad she’s so vigilant –. I just wish there were an easier way to check for toxemia.

    She also says they have a lot of 3rd-term women with high blood pressure right now, and it’s a little baffling, since you’d expect that in the hottest part of the summer, but not so much in the middle of winter.

  3. The Dan Peterson story was laugh out loud funny. Couldn’t he say: “Stop thief!” ?

  4. jenlinmin says:

    That was hilarious, but we don’t often think about the fact that more than half the world lives like that. We are actually the anomaly, not them. Well, God bless the USA and our privileged little lives that we take for granted. I am glad you are sick here instead of a 3rd world country. Good luck, and as always, thanks for keeping me entertained!

  5. Jessie W. says:

    Oh my goodness, that story of the doctor and his watch, hilarious yet terrible! (funny for comedy value though!) Sorry to hear you’re having to go through so much, I’m sure everything will be fine! You’re a trooper Zina!

  6. Anneke says:

    Thinking about the bus story, I like to think I would do something clever like lean over and bite the guy’s fingers.

  7. zstitches says:

    Anneke, yeah, that’s a good solution . . . except you could wind up with a fresh new disease.

    And I never answered Pmom’s very good question because I don’t know the answer. Dean says Dr. Peterson was very proactive against thieves later on — he was with him when a guy tried to take his wallet in a crowd and Dr. Peterson pointed and shouted “That man’s a thief!” So i don’t know if he learned from the earlier experience, or what. I’ll have to ask him if I ever get a chance.

  8. April says:

    Two things to say: LOL.
    and I’m sorry for he drama.

Leave a Reply

