I try not to hate January, but every year it gives me new reasons not to love it

UGH!

Dean and Henry and I all went to Urgent Care on Saturday after I’d done some internet searching and decided we likely had bronchitis and might not get better without an antibiotic. They couldn’t really tell whether what we have is viral or bacterial, but since Henry’s a little guy and I’m pregnant, they gave both of us a prescription for Amoxicillin in case it’s bacterial. (Dean decided to see if he gets better without antibiotics.) I think the medicine is helping; we’re marginally better, if definitely not back to the full bloom of health yet. Henry is running around and full of energy, which is a great sign, but he’s also still crusty-nosed and coughing and wheezing, as am I. (And I am NOT running around and full of energy.)

Then, both at Urgent Care on Saturday and today at my prenatal checkup, my blood pressure was high, and, while it could be caused by the stress of sickness, they have to treat it as a possible pre-eclampsia symptom, SO: they did a 20-minute fetal monitoring today at the visit (the baby’s vitals looked great,) AND I’ll be doing a 24-hour urine collection AND bloodwork AND I have to go back in on Thursday morning to follow up on the labwork and monitor the baby again. (The midwife clinic I go to is 25 minutes away.) Trying to fit this in with all my other commitments this week (including some I rescheduled from last week) and take care of my kids and even get ready for the baby is just more than I can do, so I’m just having to tell myself that keeping me and the baby healthy is the most important thing and EVERYTHING else can slide. Easy to tell myself, harder to really believe, but I’m trying. Looks like I’ll be doing even more canceling and rescheduling. At least I have a little bit of a voice for talking on the phone now, although off and on it still hurts to talk.

There was some good news, though: the baby’s head is down now, and likely to stay that way. She’s still floating high (and was kicking me like CRAZY while they were monitoring her) but at least she’s not giving me cause to worry about a breech c-section.

I’ve been pretty emotionally fragile this week, too. While I was waiting at the midwife clinic, I started flipping through a parenting magazine and was reading something about how babies start to notice external social cues more around 6 months old, rather than just “internal cues, such as being cold or hungry” and I nearly burst into tears, thinking “Oh, I’m so sorry, sweetie, I’m bringing you to a place where you’ll sometimes be cold, and sometimes be hungry, and sometimes have nasty bronchitis and a horrible sore throat!” Only later when I was driving home did I remind myself that I’m also giving her the chance to run in the grass and play with siblings and experience lots of other joy and pleasure that comes with mortality.

This entry was posted in Health or lack thereof, Meanwhile in the real world. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I try not to hate January, but every year it gives me new reasons not to love it

  1. I hope all goes well with you and the baby, that is scary!!! Hope all the health issues resolve quickly, sounds like they are finally!

  2. Kristina says:

    I hope you all start to feel better soon and that all is well with the pregnancy!

  3. zstitches says:

    You guys commented faster than I could finish revising. 🙂 Thanks so much — you better believe I’m hoping all the health stuff calms back down soon.

  4. Annette says:

    Ugh. Hope you feel better soon! I had a floater too–turned really late and head didn’t engage until I was induced AND they broke my water. Then his head engaged with a vengeance. But no C-section. Hang in there.

  5. marymary says:

    Oh Z, I’m so sorry. 😦

  6. Jessie W. says:

    Sending you and the rest of the W clan all my best wishes for a swift recovery! Can’t wait till we get to meet the new baby!

  7. Virginia Wood says:

    You have the luckiest baby in the world! What an adventure it will be to be born into your family. Reading your posts and your siblings posts makes me want to start over and inject more FUN into my family. I’m glad she’s head down–be glad she’s floating up high (as long as she stays head down) because it will make your labor a whole lot easier at first. I wish I could come and kidnap your kids every afternoon for a week so you could get a nap every day. Hang in there!

    Aunt Ginger

  8. American Yak says:

    What everyone else said. Love you Z.

  9. Melanie J says:

    There’s nothing like an extra illness to make pregnancy even MORE fun. But you’re right, thinking about all that great stuff your baby will experience is a really good way to look at it.

  10. zstitches says:

    Thanks, everyone.

    I made it through taking Rose to gymnastics and a short trip to Target this morning — I just moved really slowly and didn’t worry that Rose was late. (I did consider not taking her at all, but thought I’d give it a try.)

    Aunt Ginger, I think Mabel would tell you I’m the squelcher of all things fun at our house — she just has more ideas than I can keep up with, so I say “No” a LOT. But I also try to be the official recorder of the fun that manages to happen in spite of me.

    It looks like people in the ward might bring us dinner a couple of times this week and my kind neighbor has already offered to watch Rose and Henry when I go for the next fetal-monitoring appointment on Thursday, and thankfully Rose and Henry are pretty good about taking a nap still so I can usually get one when they do. So I think we’ll make it, bit by bit.

  11. Mrs. Organic says:

    Yay for a head-down bunny. Sorry about the other stuff – wish I could do something. Would you like some fresh, homemade bread?

  12. zstitches says:

    Mrs. O, that’s a rhetorical question, right? (As in, is there anyone in their right mind who would say no to that?)

  13. Carli says:

    Zina, I liked your last thought about bringing her into this world to run through grass and be able to play with siblings. As i was taking care of Reece last week i was thinking to myself that i didn’t want to have any more kids if they got as sick as he did. Your comment gives me a better outlook! Thank You! I am also glad to hear that you are feeling better. Good luck on your testing. I hated those blood work tests- that is theone thing i do not miss about being pregnant!

Leave a Reply

