Day-after-the-snowstorm update

So, let’s see.

I felt sore all day yesterday from my fall, but today the soreness is gone and if I have any bruises, I haven’t discovered them yet. I must have done a fairly smooth and graceful slide.

Dean took Isaac to Urgent Care last night and got him some antibiotic eye drops, so Isaac’s home again today (has to be on the antibiotic for 24 hours before returning to school) but he can go back tomorrow. Dean also took Ike to the library last night, since we’d all forgotten he has to have 10 books read within a few days for a school assignment (the books were to be read over the course of the semester and he’s already read 5 or 6. He’s a fast reader and I feel confident he’ll make it, now that he has reading material. Before Dean left this morning he told Ike to spend his day reading the books he needs to read, rather than building paper models and reading Dilbert.)

The sun is out, the sky is blue, the snow is melting from off the roads, and we have new icicles forming on our front porch (replacing the last batch that Isaac and his friends knocked down.) I have a Relief Society Presidency meeting tomorrow morning and a midwife check-up tomorrow afternoon, and the sun’s supposed to be out all day tomorrow, so I’m grateful for that.

Other than that, I’m just outlandishly, insanely, crazily fatigued; all I want to do is lie down. I took an hour-long nap this morning while the kids watched TV, and it was terribly difficult to get back up again. I hadn’t really forgotten that I get this tired in the last weeks of a pregnancy, but I always hope that this time my will to get things done will be stronger than the urge to sleep. I’m still hoping. I have most of what I need for the baby (I think) but it does need to be gotten out of storage, and I have plenty of painting and reorganizing projects that aren’t do-or-die, but which I’d like to get done. (If I didn’t want to lie down even more than that.)

This entry was posted in Meanwhile in the real world. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Day-after-the-snowstorm update

  1. Kristina says:

    Then all you should do is lie down and do nothing! Take it easy!

  2. zstitches says:

    🙂 Thanks. I guess I need to take Ike away from his reading and put him in charge of the kids . . .

  3. Cheryl says:

    I had no idea you fell? Are you and la bebe ok? wow especially after a fall, naps and rest are good!

  4. I am sorry you are so exhausted. Follow the inclinations. Remember, you are creating a human right now.

  5. zstitches says:

    Cheryl, yeah, it’s a few posts back (even though it was just yesterday morning — I let Ike and Mabel do guest posts so my own post got bumped pretty far down the page.) I slid on the snow and ice when I was taking Rose to gymnastics yesterday. It scared me, but thankfully I seem to be just fine.

    Laura, it’s very true — just carrying and growing a baby inside me is plenty of work for one woman. If I could just banish my Pottery-Barn-esque visions of bringing the baby home to a beautiful nursery, I could rest a little more relaxed-ish, but I think the resting is just going to force me to do its bidding, whether I banish the visions or not.

  6. Melanie J says:

    The one thing I dread about getting pregnant again is the constant need for sleep and a toddler who will ensure that never happens. I have no idea how I will make it through. And yet I’ve seen it done, so maybe I’ll eventually have another kid after all.

  7. zstitches says:

    Melanie, I’ll share with you how I’ve gotten through some periods of chronic illness as well as my pregnancies, although it’s self-incriminating, shameful, and not politically correct: television.

    That said, there have been a few times when I thought my toddler was quietly watching TV and instead he or she was quietly making a huge mess. So it’s not a risk-free solution.

Leave a Reply

