A really good reason not to even try to leave my house again today

This morning Rose was supposed to have gymnastics at 9 AM, but there’s so much new snow that I was afraid I wouldn’t even be able to get out of my neighborhood, so I was thinking of just keeping her home. But at about 9:07 I decided I was feeling brave, so I hurriedly got her and myself dressed. (Isaac is home sick so I was able to leave Henry with him.) We got there (with a fair bit of help from my anti-lock brakes — this is the one time of year I really wish we had 4WD,) and as I walked around the car to get to the other side and open her door, I slipped and fell HARD on my left leg and hip.

The worst part was that no one even saw me fall. Normally I’d rather fall anonymously, but when the big seven-months-pregnant lady falls, I think she should get lots and lots of sympathy.

After getting Rose in to her class (the teacher asked me, “Did you know this class starts at 9?”) I went across the street to Target, very carefully picking my way across the parking lot, which left me with about 10 minutes to shop. (I had a list about an hour long.) Even though I never buy the expensive produce at Target, I thought I’d make an exception just this once, since I wasn’t sure when was the next time I’d make it to a grocery store, and I wanted the ingredients to make some turkey soup. But when I saw they were asking $5.99 for a 5 lb. bag of potatoes, I just couldn’t do it. Then I found the 10 lb. bag of potatoes, which was ALSO $5.99, so I bought that. (Who knew they would charge you $3 for the privilege of not having too many potatoes?) And I forgot to buy carrots.

We’re now home safe and sound and I’m nursing my bruises by reading other people’s blogs, and I’m praying that having fallen won’t send me into early labor (so far, so good.) But: Isaac has pink eye, and his school policy is he can’t go back to school until he’s been on an antibiotic for 24 hours. And I’m trying to pretend that his pink eye will just go away on its own. (I dislike our pediatrician, and keep meaning to find a different one, but never seem to get around to doing so when we’re healthy.)

I think it’s definitely time to go start having a productive day take a nap.

I decided this post needed an illustration more than my children needed lunch. The bunnies are, of course, snow bunnies.

Wednesday update: Jennette pointed out that I would need more than just the carrots for the soup, what with all those bunnies needing to be fed. I’m hoping this will do the trick:

This entry was posted in Meanwhile in the real world. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A really good reason not to even try to leave my house again today

  1. I am SOOOOO sorry. What a horrible start to the day. And I just want to go slap that teacher for you who asked you if you knew when the class started. Maybe you can ask her if she knows who is paying her salary??? And who knew you could get double the potatoes for the same price? Good to know. I hope you are feeling better, and I also think you should rest in bed for the next week. You have that slave Mabel to help you out anyway, right??? Ha-ha. Have a better day, Love, Laura

  2. Annette says:

    Ugh. You poor thing!

  3. I love all the bunnies. THey sure do multiply quickly. You sure are getting your moneys worth! LOVE IT.

  4. Kristina says:

    I’m glad you’re OK! And I hope a giant group of bunnies come over to lick your wounds.

  5. Lili says:

    NOOOOOOOO! I’m so sorry about you falling, and Ike’s eye, and the price of produce, and the forgotten carrots…
    but most especially the falling down 😦
    I skipped work again today on account of the snow. Decided after 1/2 hour cleaning my car and knowing it would come down all day and the commute home would be awful…
    So I guess I’ll be going in Wed-Fri.
    oh.
    And I am totally cracking up at your constant use of bunnies.

  6. Acheté says:

    Ouch! I’m so sorry. And I hope I’m not the source of the pink eye–I’ve tried to be very careful, but it is awfully contagious.

  7. Brian says:

    Isaac is not the only one with pink eye. Check out the bunnies. 🙂

  8. Jen says:

    Love the illustration.

  9. zstitches says:

    Achete, I’m afraid you must have been the source for the pink eye, since you’re the only person I know of who has it besides Ike. And I’ve been meaning to call and ask you whether you did see a doctor, and how long it took to get better.

    I have a feeling my whole family will have it in no time. We’re trying to get Ike to not touch anyone, but we live packed together like a bunch of pink-eyed bunnies (good call, Brian,) and I fear it’s a losing battle.

  10. Mom says:

    You have lots and lots and lots of sympathy from me. My heart just sank when I read this. Ouch yuk panic pain grrrrr!

  11. zstitches says:

    Thanks, Mom. I’m verrrrry grateful I seem to be only bruised, but I’m still feeling pretty pathetic and am grateful for the sympathy.

  12. Trina says:

    You absolutely shouldn’t leave your house again today. I second Laura’s recommendation of staying in bed all week, and really hope that all is ok.

    I’m hating this snow. I spent a good part of the morning trying to dig out so that I could take Caleb to Kindergarten. After bundling the boys up, buckling everyone in, I backed out of the driveway and slid right into the pile of snow I’d made by clearing the snow that the snow plow (the first one I’ve seen here in 4 years) piled in front of our driveway). I tried for ten minutes or so to dig the van out (I know what you mean about the otherwise unnecessary to my life 4WD), and then gave up and called to school to say that Caleb wouldn’t be there. Luckily, Guy came home an hour later and the two of us were able to un-stick the van. Then I made him go pick up the other two boys from school, because I spent yesterday afternoon sliding all over the roads and was feeling very nervous about a repeat. Yes, I’ve lived in Utah for the past 14+ years, but I’m still a desert-girl at heart (and probably behind the steering-wheel).

    I wish I had a good ped. recommendation, but I don’t really care for mine, either. My sis has a family practice doctor she likes if you’re interested. Good luck with the pink eye.

  13. Kristina says:

    I also wanted to mention, that I read your comment on Sue’s blog, and I would not complain if you did blog about nudity and celebrities. There just aren’t enough of my, I mean those blogs in the world.

  14. zstitches says:

    Trina, I too am still a California girl at heart, even if it was just the first seven years of my life that I lived there (and then five while Dean was in school.) I do think the snow is beautiful and I even like it better fresh than old and crusty — but I sure don’t like trying to get places in it.

    Also, yesterday I was thinking that we were all healthy and I should call you and see how you all were and MAYBE even get together. (That was before I knew about Isaac’s eyes.)

    Kristina — LOL. I wondered if you would think I was talking about you. Of course I TOTALLY wasn’t — I was thinking of all those *other* dime-a-dozen Mormon bloggers who blog about nudity and mock celebrities, and mock co-workers and write petitions and get apples in return. (I mean apple.)

  15. katie says:

    We LOVE our pediatricion… let me know if you wnt his info.

  16. Amanda says:

    Last year I fell on my butt and looked around… no one saw, but man it hurt. I sympathize with you. At least my bottom has padding, I imagine the side not so much. Plus, being pregnant has got to make it a little harder to get up.

    BTW, last year I also sprained my ankle for the first time bc of the snow. Boo snow and ice!

  17. Jennette says:

    So sorry. I hate those kinds of days. But I’m afraid that you might have to venture out to the store again and pick up the forgotten carrots…those bunnies are bound to be hungry.

  18. zstitches says:

    Amanda, I’m feeling really lucky I seem not to have been injured. Dean twisted his ankle sledding with the kids on New Year’s Day and was limping for a few days but says he’s mostly better now. And I agree, Boo snow and ice.

    Jennette, that’s a very good point about the bunnies. 🙂 Hopefully I can feed them with Google Image Searches though and not have to spend even more at a stock photo site just to feed my expensive bunnies.

    Do you think this will do the trick? (I’m not really sure if it’s going to work to embed a photo in a comment – testing . . .)

  19. zstitches says:

    Nope, it didn’t work. I’ll have to put it in the post.

Leave a Reply

