My kind

Leaving the city fitness center, I’m walking behind two young men and two young women whom I assume are students at the high school next to the fitness center. One of the young men holds the door for me, and I thank him. As I head to my car, I hear the same kid say to his friends, “I finished the Old Testament. I was reading for twenty hours.” One of the young women responds in a tone that sounds impressed and approving. I only catch the end of her next sentence: “Twilight series.” The young men both laugh, and the first young man says, “I’ve been thinking of reading that, just so I can write a satire of it.”

This entry was posted in Other people are funny. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My kind

  1. lili says:

    Wow… don’t think I’d encounter that here…
    By the way, I felt so comforted while I was home and guiltily confessed to me that she didn’t enjoy (What’s the third one, is it New Moon?) anyway, that she didn’t enjoy it AT ALL. I blurted out– “I gave up on the third book!” I finally had found someone to confess to that I slogged through the second out of a sense of duty, and I gave the 3rd a valiant effort for a few chapters…until I threw it aside and said forget it–I can’t take it anymore!! So…those folks are my kind, too. Well–all but the Twilight series part. But the satire of it part, yes. I think that’s why I read them–well, read them as far as I could make it. Don’t get me wrong. I did enjoy the first. But that’s where it ends for me.

  2. zstitches says:

    You left out the name of the person who guiltily confessed. Mom?

    I found the 2nd and 3rd books to be more of a slog, too, although I think I’d still say I liked things about them. But Book 3 takes *forever* to get to its predictable denouement. (And then I was confused because I didn’t realize they’d extended the 3-part series to 4, so I thought it was a weird place to end. Prolly a more artistic place to end, but it’s not like her to not explain every little thing.)

  3. lilbooks says:

    haha whoops–
    yes. she-who-must-not-be-incriminated 😉

Leave a Reply

