How to cut a puzzle apple

Yesterday’s experiments with creative apple slicing reminded me of the puzzle apples my parents used to cut for us:

They’re not hard to do — here’s how, with step-by-step photos and one illustration:

1. Cut one slice from the top of the apple, halfway through. The red lines on Figure 1 (below) show this cut.

2. Turn the apple upside down, rotate it 1/4 turn, and make another cut halfway through the apple, perpendicular to the first cut. The two cuts will only touch at the very center point of the apple. This cut is shown in blue in Figure 1.

3. Make a wedge-shaped horizontal cut across the center of the apple, connecting the bottom edge of one side of cut #1 and the top edge of the other side of cut #2, as shown. Leave an uncut space, then repeat this cut on the other side of the apple between the other two sides of cuts 1 and 2. These cuts are shown in green on Figure 1.

Slide the two pieces apart by pulling on them horizontally. Ta-da!




—–

Postscript:

Or, you could just watch this YouTube video.  (And the moral of the story is: always Google first. Oh, well.)

This entry was posted in Creative miscellany. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to How to cut a puzzle apple

  1. UnkieJas says:

    Lovely; mindboggling.

    Can you do a Rubik’s prune?

  2. Emily Brimhall says:

    wow, you are creative! I love the apple puzzle, I’m going to try that one. I also love the darling jumpers. I know I’ve told you this but your girls are darling. Also, I just changed my blog to private and I didn’t have your email. shoot me an email, emilybrimhall@gmail.com, and I’ll give you access to view.

  3. Jenny says:

    Maybe my kids will eat apples more willingly if I do something fun like turn them into a puzzle! Thanks for the idea! And I agree, those are 2 really beautiful girls and it also kills me that Isaac, who I still see as a sunbeam in my mind’s eye, is old enough to be making adult sized puns!

  4. Robby says:

    LOL at Figure 1.

  5. Pingback: Milestones (millstones?) « My Imaginary Blog

  6. barbara says:

    My mother used to cut these for us when I was a kid, many years ago. I took a chance to see if I could find the instructions so I could do it for my Grandchildren. God Bless you for making this available. Now I will be a cooler GMa….

  7. Amy says:

    My grandfather used to make a puzzle out of an apple and let me eat it! I recently told my daughter about it and she now wants a puzzle she can eat. Since my grandfather is not around your site is what I found. She is excited!

  8. Christine says:

    My mom used to do this for me all the time. thank you for the photos …. now I can do them for my girls.

    • zstitches says:

      You’re welcome! It’s been a couple years since I’ve done this for my kids, so I should do it again and it will seem new to them.

      I’ll bet I have the knowledge now that I could redraw that figure with straight lines. But it still works, even if it’s not pretty.

Leave a Reply

