Santa has come *and* a tree skirt got sewn!

I am certifiably insane, and also still very sick (physically,) but I’m on the high that comes from realizing plans for things my kids will love. I’ll have to take some pictures in the morning before the kids demolish the pretty set-up under the tree, because between Dean and me, we did some very cute projects this year.

This afternoon after Dean took the kids Christmas shopping (it was their first chance to buy presents for each other, since they’ve been sick,) I was feeling really anxious because I really did want a clean(er) house, but felt bad to make my kids do chores on Christmas Eve (and there was no way I could do it all myself.) Well, Dean rallied the troops and we all worked together, and we did get the house much more presentable (at least cosmetically; there’s lots of hidden grime. Which you would never know about, except I went and told you.) Dean says he even thinks it was good because it kept the kids occupied. Mabel complained a lot and thought we were mean, but I think tomorrow morning will erase all her woes. And then we did sit down this evening by the tree and read the Christmas story from the Bible.

The weirdest part about this evening is that, around 9 PM after the kids were in bed (and Ike had been put in charge, with instructions to call our cell phone in case of emergency,) Dean and I actually went for a short walk in the snow. It felt illicit to me to be briefly playing hooky on the busiest night of the year, and crazy since I’m so dang sick, but also: pleasant. And then we came home, and I sewed the tree skirt I’d been wanting to sew (I predicted it would take me 2-3 hours, and it took 2.5,) and then we put all the presents under the tree,

and now,

now is when I should definitely be sleeping.

(Typing always goes so much more slowly than you think.)

Merry Christmas!

This entry was posted in Meanwhile in the real world, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Santa has come *and* a tree skirt got sewn!

  1. How romantic and fun to have a nice walk in the snow with your man. I hope you are feeling better soon!!! Merry Christmas, love, Laura

Leave a Reply

