Butterfly Valentines

Valentine_butterfly_sucker_02 Valentine_butterfly_sucker_05

Mabel was just pointing out to me that it’s always night when we finish a craft–and I always want to post it on my blog right away, so the photos are always dark. This is so true. Just possibly I will try to replace these with better photos in the morning, but more likely I will just move on to the next thing and forget about it. (The nice thing about not having a “monetized” blog is I can be sloppy and lazy and no one cares.) (Update: I did take  a couple more photos in the morning. But it’s winter and the photos are still kind of dark.)

Mabel got the idea for butterfly-lollipop valentines from the internet. We added our own twist by making the butterfly wings out of hearts punched from scrap-booking paper. (The punch we used made 16 hearts from one 12″x12″ sheet.) We lapped the points of the hearts and glued them, taped the lollipop onto the back, and then made a crease at the center so the wings would stand up a bit. Rose signed her name on the back. (The wise teachers at our elementary school gave us the tip to not bother writing recipients’ names on valentines, which makes it quicker and simpler for the kids to pass the valentines out.)

Valentine_butterfly_sucker_01

Valentine_butterfly_sucker_03

Valentine_butterfly_sucker_04

Henry wanted Paper Mario cards, and Mabel designed this card for him. If anyone wants a copy of the document, which fits 4 cards on an 8.5×11 sheet, leave a comment and I’ll email you a copy. (I’ll even change the name on it for you.) :) It’s in MS Word 2010, but I could probably convert it to an older Word format.

Valentine_MarioPaper

This entry was posted in Kid Crafts, Papercraft, Tutorial and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Butterfly Valentines

  1. Heather says:

    ooh, I’d like a copy please! I’m not positive I’ll use it, but I’ve been looking for something fun and I wouldn’t even have to buy any candy. Perfect! Oh, for Felix, please. I think I’ll use the butterfly idea for Amelia even. Thanks!

  2. betsyhuntington says:

    Like like like like LIKE!
    I bet Rose’s and Henry’s Valentines will be the cutest in their (respective) classes. Some may be fancier or more goo-gah or whatever, but to quote Leonardo da Vinci (yes, really!) (well, translated, anyway), “Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.” These are just terrific.

  3. enrico says:

    hi,
    your works are good.
    can you please send me a copy of the mario card. it looks great. i will give this to my girlfriend. she’s a big fan of mario.

    thanks in advance.

  4. Amanda says:

    I would love a copy of the Mario Valentine. Thanks!

  5. Amanda says:

    From Danny, please! ;)

  6. Angela Bulach says:

    I’d love a copy of the Mario Valentine please….and the name can be left blank since we’ve been practicing name writing! These are too cute! Thank you!

  7. Kristina says:

    I would LOVE a copy of the Mario valentine. I have a Henry too!! THANK YOU!

  8. Nicole edens says:

    Can I have a copy of Mario valentine? Could u please add Nolan at the bottom.

  9. Gretchen says:

    This is perfect for my obsessed boy! Could we please get one too, from Miles? I can’t thank you enough for sharing this.

  10. Danielle says:

    I would like a copy of this Mario card. Thanks for sharing.

  11. Rachel Scott says:

    Oh my I would LOVE a copy of this!!!

  12. Melissa says:

    I love the Mario cards! Can you send me it?! Thx!

  13. Nina says:

    I would love a copy of the Mario valentine! Would you send me one? And, if you are able and willing to change the name, I would like Andrew to be on it. He would be so thrilled! Thanks!

  14. zstitches says:

    I have to apologize that I sent a slightly different version to all of you–my daughter was searching for her original version tonight (so my son could re-use it) and discovered that, for some reason none of us knows, the version we have saved on our computer and that I’ve been sending to people doesn’t have the same nice font as her version. And we can’t find the other version. Sorry! I can still send it to anyone who requests, it just looks a little different than in the image above.

Leave a Reply

